Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

ACerS Awards


Congratulations to the 2016 Society award winners!! Bios and photos of the 2016 winners will be posted on the awards webpages over the next few months and the awardees will be featured in the September 2016 issue of the Bulletin


The awards will be presented October 24 at the ACerS Honors and Awards Banquet at MS&T 2016 in Salt Lake City, Utah. Be sure to purchase your banquet tickets before the MS&T meeting.  



Award nomination deadlines for the 2017 awards is January 15, 2017.



Note that the deadline for the 2017 Class of Fellows is September 1, 2016. Late nominations are not accepted.  


Division, Section, and Class members should check below or with their respective groups to determine award nomination deadlines since a few of them are still open.

John Jeppson Award

The Jeppson Award recognizes distinguished scientific, technical, or engineering achievements in ceramics.

Read More

John Jeppson Award Winners 2016

W. David Kingery Award

The W. David Kingery Award recognizes distinguished lifelong achievements involving multidisciplinary and global contributions to ceramic technology, science, education and art. The award is open to all people worldwide. There are no limitations regarding nationality, gender or religion and membership in ACerS is not a requirement. A nominee must be living, but in the event of death subsequent to selection but prior to presentation, the award shall be made posthumously.

Read More

W. David Kingery Award Winners 2016

Edward Orton, Jr. Memorial Lecture

The Edward Orton, Jr. Memorial Lecture is presented by the invited lecturer at the annual meeting/MS&T. The lecturer is to be noted for scholarly attainments in ceramics or related field. The Committee on the Orton Memorial Lecture shall select the Orton Lecturer.

Read More

Edward Orton, Jr. Memorial Lecture Winners 2016

Ross Coffin Purdy Award

Ross Coffin Purdy, in whose honor this award is given, served The American Ceramic Society for 24 years as General Secretary and Editor of its publications. He was the recipient of many awards, a Fellow and Honorary Life Member, and President of the Society. Mr. Purdy was noted for his dynamic leadership, individualism, broad vision, and unswerving devotion to the Society and to the ceramic engineering profession.


The Purdy award shall be given to the author or authors who, in the judgment of the committee, made the most valuable contribution to ceramic technical literature published two years prior to the selection year. The 2016 Purdy award will be given to the author(s) of a paper published in 2014.


2016 Award Winners
A 3.8-V earth-abundant sodium battery electrode
Nature Communications, 5:4358, 2014
by Prabeer Barpanda, Gosuke Oyama, Shin-ichi Nishimura, Sai-Cheong Chung, and Atsuo Yamada

Read More

Ross Coffin Purdy Award Winners 2016

Frontiers of Science and Society – Rustum Roy Lecture

This annual lecture of The American Ceramic Society honors the late Professor Rustum Roy of The Pennsylvania State University and recognizes his contributions to science and technology and their interrelationship to society-at-large. The lecture is given each year by an internationally or nationally recognized individual in the area of science, industry or government.

Read More

Frontiers of Science and Society – Rustum Roy Lecture Winners 2016

Karl Schwartzwalder-Professional Achievement in Ceramic Engineering (PACE) Award

The Karl Schwartzwalder – Professional Achievement in Ceramic Engineering (PACE) Award is presented by The American Ceramic Society’s National Institute of Ceramic Engineers (ACerS/NICE). It honors this past president and Distinguished Life Member of ACerS. A nominee must be between 21 and 40 years of age; not becoming 41 during the award year, and must be a member of NICE and ACerS.

Read More

Karl Schwartzwalder-Professional Achievement in Ceramic Engineering (PACE) Award Winners 2016

Richard and Patricia Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award

The Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award shall be given to the author or authors who, in the judgment of the award committee, made the most valuable contribution to phase stability relationships in ceramic-based systems literature during the calendar year prior to the selection. For the purposes of this award, a phase equilibria article is defined as a paper, article, or report published in a technical or trade journal, or in a bulletin from a school, laboratory, technical bureau, or experimental station, or in a pamphlet or book form. It must be complete and readily available to the public.

2016 Award Winners
Andrea Quaini, Christine Guéneau, Stéphane Gossé, Bo Sundman, Dario Manara, Anna L. Smith, David Bottomley, Patrick Lajarge, Markus Ernstberger, Fiqiri Hodaj
High temperature investigation of the solid/liquid transition in the PuO2–UO2–ZrO2 system
Journal of Nuclear Materials, 467 (2015) 660-676

Read More

Richard and Patricia Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award Winners 2016

Darshana and Arun Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Lectures

The Frontiers of Glass Science and the Frontiers of Glass Technology lectures are designed to encourage scientific and technical dialog in glass topics of significance that define new horizons, highlight new research concepts, or demonstrate the potential to develop products and processes for the benefit of humankind. While the Frontiers of Glass Science lecture focuses on advances in the basic science of glass, the Frontiers of Glass Technology lecture concentrates on new breakthroughs in glass technology or new glass products or applications. The lectures are presented at the Glass and Optical Materials Division meeting. The Varshneya awards committee will select the lecturers. The choice of lecturers may be from within or outside of the Society. The award consists of a travel stipend of up to $2,500, a commemorative glass piece and a framed certificate

Read More

Darshana and Arun Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Lectures Winners 2016

Samuel Geijsbeek PACRIM International Award

The Geijsbeek PACRIM award recognizes individuals who are members of the Pacific Rim Conference (PACRIM) societies, for their contributions in the field of ceramics and glass technology that have resulted in significant industrial and/or academic impact, international advocacy, and visibility of the field. Industrial candidates will be evaluated based on the technology development and commercialization, and the development’s current usefulness and importance, its uniqueness, and its economic significance.

Read More

Samuel Geijsbeek PACRIM International Award Winners 2016

Global Ambassador Program

The Global Ambassador Program recognizes dedicated ACerS volunteers worldwide who demonstrate exceptional leadership and/or service that benefits the Society, its members, and the global ceramics and glass community.

Read More

Global Ambassador Program Winners 2016

Back to Top ↑