Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

Stookey Lecture of Discovery Award

The Glass and Optical Materials Division invites nominations for the Stookey Lecture of Discovery, named in honor of materials pioneer Dr. S. Donald Stookey. Dr. Stookey created major life-changing inventions including photosensitive and photochromic glasses, and glass-ceramics and in 1986 was presented with the National Medal of Technology from President Ronald Reagan in recognition of his scientific achievements.


This award recognizes an individual’s lifetime of innovative exploratory work or noteworthy contributions of outstanding research on new materials, phenomena, or processes involving glass, that have commercial significance or the potential for commercial impact.

The winner presents a distinguished lecture at the GOMD annual meeting. The winner receives an engraved glass piece and a $1000 honorarium sponsored by Corning Incorporated and Coe College. The criterion for winning the award is technical innovation.


Nomination Deadline:  January 21, 2014

Nomination package should include:

Sponsor’s executive summary;

Patents and publications related to the nominee’s career and discoveries;

Two letters of recommendation by those knowledgeable of the nominee’s technical achievements and pre-eminence in their fields.

Winners of the Stookey Award


 John B. MacChesney, Fellow (Retired), Bell Laboratories


 Dr. Delbert E. Day, Missouri University of Science and Technology



Dr. Tetsuro Izumitani, Former Director of Hoya Research & Development Laboratory, Japan  



Dr. Tadashi Kokubo, Professor, Chubu University, Japan


Dr. Larry Hench, Emeritus Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Florida and Imperial College London


Dr. George H. Beall, Research Fellow (retired), Corning Incorporated


Dr. Elias Snitzer (Rutgers University) – Pioneer in optical waveguide modes and gratings, and inventor of the glass laser, fiber laser, fiber amplifier, and retinal coagulator.

Nominations should be sent electronically to:


Dr. Shibin Jiang

AdValue Technology
3708 E. Columbia Street, Suite 100
Tucson, AZ 85714

Phone: (520)790-5468



Back to Awards

Back to Top ↑