Welcome, please login:
  |  [Join]  |     |   [Contact Us]

ACerS Awards



The 2015 Society Award winners have been announced and you can view the bios and photos on these pages. All winners will receive their awards at the ACerS Honors and Awards Banquet on October 5, 2015 in Columbus, Ohio. Congratulations to the outstanding group of winners!  



Award nomination deadlines for the 2016 awards is January 15, 2016.



Note that the deadline for the 2016 Class of Fellows was August 21, 2015. Late nominations are not accepted.  


Division, Section, and Class members should check below or with their respective groups to determine award nomination deadlines since a few of them are still open.

Distinguished Life Membership

The Constitution of the Society states: “Distinguished Life Members shall be current members of the Society of professional eminence who, because of their achievements in the ceramic arts or sciences, or their service to the Society, are elected to such membership by the Board of Directors.” You must be an ACerS member to nominate someone. Two sponsors are required.

Read More

Distinguished Life Membership Winners 2015

Society Fellows

Fellows shall be persons of good reputation who have reached their 35th birthday and who shall have been members of the Society at least five years continuously at the established nomination deadline date when nominated.

Read More

Society Fellows Winners 2015

Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars

The award recognizes an outstanding scientist who is conducting research in academia, in industry or at a government-funded laboratory. Candidates must be ACerS members and must be 35 years of age or younger. Selection of the awardee will be based on the nominations and accompanying evidence of scientific contributions (e.g., list of publications, selected abstracts, receipt of other awards or recognition).

Read More

Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars Winners 2015

Corporate Environmental Achievement Award

The Corporate Environmental Achievement Award (CEAA) was established to recognize and honor a single outstanding environmental achievement made by an ACerS corporate member in the field of ceramics. These achievements represent either a significant improvement of an existing process and/or product, or the development and implementation of a new process and/or product. In both cases the process and/or product should demonstrate improvements in one or more of the following areas: reduction in undesirable effluent streams, expanded recycling of materials, and/or measurable environmental benefits over previously established processes.

Read More

Corporate Environmental Achievement Award Winners 2015

Corporate Technical Achievement Award

This award recognizes a single outstanding technical achievement made by an ACerS corporate member in the field of ceramics. The achievement must show significant technical merit and represent a gain to society through commercialization of the technology within the preceding eight years. Through this award, the Society recognizes corporate members who have taken a technology and successfully developed it into a viable commercial product. It is not necessary for the technical and commercial development to be accomplished by one company, and joint nominations can be submitted. Up to two awards may be made each year.

Read More

Corporate Technical Achievement Award Winners 2015

Du-Co Ceramics Scholarship Award

This $3,000 scholarship, established by the late Reldon Cooper, co-founder of Du-Co Ceramics, is awarded to an undergraduate student pursing a degree in ceramic science, ceramic engineering, materials science, materials engineering or any combination of these degrees.

Read More

Du-Co Ceramics Scholarship Award Winners 2015

Du-Co Ceramics Young Professional Award

This $1,500 award, established by the late Reldon Cooper, co-founder of Du-Co Ceramics, is awarded to a young professional member of ACerS who demonstrates exceptional leadership and service to ACerS.

Read More

Du-Co Ceramics Young Professional Award Winners 2015

Richard M. Fulrath Awards

The Fulrath Awards promote technical and personal friendships between professional Japanese and American ceramic engineers and scientists and encourage a greater understanding among the diverse cultures surrounding the Pacific Rim. The awards recognize individuals for their excellence in research and development of ceramic sciences and materials.

Read More

Richard M. Fulrath Awards Winners 2015

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership is given to individuals who have been non-members of the Society for at least the previous 5 years prior to consideration for Honorary Membership and who because of their achievements in the ceramics arts and sciences are elected to such membership by the Board of Directors.

Read More

Honorary Membership Winners 2015

John Jeppson Award

The Jeppson Award recognizes distinguished scientific, technical, or engineering achievements in ceramics.

Read More

John Jeppson Award Winners 2015

Back to Top ↑