Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

February 24th, 2014

Cements Division


Get Involved in the Cements Division


The Cements Division of The American Ceramic Society is involved with the research, development, manufacture, and sale of cements, limes, and plasters. Developments in Portland cement occupy much of the Division members’ efforts.

Division Chair

Kyle Riding
Assistant Professor
Kansas State University
2118 Fiedler Hall, Manhattan, KS 66506
riding@ksu.edu | (785) 532-1578


Jeff Chen

Group Leader

Lafarge Centre de Recherche

95 Rue de Montmurier-BP 15, 38291 St Quentin Fallavier, France

jeffrey.chen@lafarge.com | 33 625 673966


Tyler Ley

Assistant Professor
Oklahoma State University

5122 W 1st Ave., Stillwater, OK 74074-6735

tyler.ley@okstate.edu | (512) 289-6298


Joseph J. Biernacki


Tennessee Technological Univ.

Box 5013, Cookeville, TN 38505

jbiernacki@tntech.edu | (931) 372-3667


Join Now!


Contact us for more information on the Division.


Della Roy Lecture Video
Watch the video of Dr. Leslie J. Struble presenting the 2013 Della Roy Lecture. Dr. Struble presented her lecture at the Cements Division Annual Meeting, held July 8-10, 2013 at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The lecture was titled: Effects of Calcium on the Geopolymer Reaction

4th Ceramic Leadership Summit – CLS 2014
April 7-9, 2014, Baltimore, Maryland, USA

5th Advances in Cement-based Materials: Characterization, Processing, Modeling and Sensing

July 9-11, 2014. Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

MS&T’14: Materials Science & Technology Conference and Exhibition, combined with ACerS 116th Annual Meeting

October 12-16, 2014, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


All ACerS Meetings



Brunauer Best Paper Award
This award is presented each year for the best scientific paper on the topic of cement and concrete published by ACerS during the previous year.


2011 Winning Paper:

“New Insights into the Effect of Calcium Hydroxide Precipitation on the Kinetics of Tricalcium Silicate Hydration”

Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 93 (7) 1894-1903 (2010)

by Jeffrey W. Bullard and Robert J. Flatt


2010 Winning Paper:
“First-Principles Study of Elastic Constants and Interlayer Interactions of Complex Hydrated Oxides: Case Study of Tobermorite and Jennite”
Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 92 (10) 2323-2330(2009)
by Rouzbeh Shahsavari, Markus J. Buehler, Roland J.-M. Pellenq, and Franz-Josef Ulm


L.E. Copeland Award
This award recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions to the development and understanding of cement and concrete science. Presentation of this award is considered whenever the Copeland Award Committee feels that there is a suitable candidate.


Della Roy Lecture and Award

The Della Roy lecturer is selected each year by the division executive committee. The recipient does not need to be a member of the Cements Division or the Society at large.


2013 Della Roy Lecturer:

Leslie J. Struble, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Lecture title: Calcium in Geopolymers

Watch the video of Dr. Struble presenting the lecture “Effects of Calcium on the Geopolymer Reaction”


2012 Della Roy Lecturer:

Edward Garboczi, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Lecture title: The Computational Materials Science of Concrete: Past – Present – Future


2011 Della Roy Lecturer:
Karen Scivener, Professor and Head of the Laboratory of Construction Materials at Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland).
Lecture title: Modelling Hydration Kinetics of Cementitious Systems

Job Opportunities  
ACerS Career Center




Back to Previous Page
« « Previous Post     |    Next Post » »

Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑