Welcome, please login:
  |  [Join]  |     |   [Contact Us]

June 11th, 2013

Electronics Division


Become Involved with the Electronics Division


The Electronics Division of The American Ceramic Society focuses on electronic materials and devices. Traditional areas of interest include dielectric and ferroelectric materials, high-k’ and tunable dielectrics for communications applications; ferroelectric and piezoelectric ceramics; ceramics for sensors, fuel cells, batteries, superconductors, and other renewable energy technologies; and recently, thermoelectric ceramics. In addition to the traditional areas, the division also explores emerging areas such as nanoscience, electronic composites, and new ceramic devices.


Electronics Photomontage

Electronics Logo


Division Chair

Timothy J. Haugan
US Air Force Research Lab
1950 5th St, Bldg 450
Wright-Patterson AFB, OH 45433-7251
timothy.haugan@wpafb.af.mil | (937) 255-7163


Haiyan Wang

Texas A&M University
Electrical and Computer Engineering Dept. 

MS 3128, College Station, TX 77843-3128
wangh@ece.tamu.edu | (979) 845-5082


Geoff Brennecka

Colorado School of Mines

1500 Illinois St.

Golden, CO 80401

gbrennec@mines.edu | (303) 384-2283


Brady Gibbons

Oregon State University

204 Rogers Hall, Corvallis, OR 97331-8569

brady.gibbons@oregonstate.edu | (541) 737-2427


Rick Ubic

Boise State University

Department of Materials Science & Engineering
1910 University Drive
Boise, ID 83725-2090

RickUbic@BoiseState.edu | (208)426-2309


Winnie Wong-Ng

National Inst. of Standards & Technology

Materials Bldg. 223 Rm. A256

100 Bureau Dr., Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8520

winnie.wong-ng@nist.gov | (301) 975-5791


2013-2014 Nominating Committee Members:

Ruyan Guo  

University of Texas at San Antonio



Menka Jain 

University of Connecticut



Quanxi Jia

Los Alamos National Laboratory 



Haiyan Wang presents a Certificate of Appreciation to Out-Going Chair, Amit Goyal.

Ruyan Guo presents Outgoing Chair, Amit Goyal, with a Certificate of Appreciation.


2012 ED Committee Member Roster


International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC)

Prof. Jurgen Roedel
Darmstadt University of Technology
Materials Science, NAW
64287 Darmstadt, Germany
E-mail: roedel@ceramics.tu-darmstadt.de


Prof. Michael Glazer

Oxford University
Clarendon Laboratory
Parks Road, Oxford, OX1 3PU, UK
Email: m.glazer1@physics.ox.ac.uk


Prof. Haosu Luo
Shanghai Institute of Ceramics
Chinese Academy of Sciences
215 Chengbei Rd. Jiading,
Shanghai 201800, China
Email: hsluo@mail.sic.ac.cn


Prof. Sahn Nahm
Korea University
Anam-Dong 5-1
Seoul 136-701, Korea
Email: snahm@korea.ac.kr


Dr. Jungho Ryu 
Senior Researcher
Functional Ceramics Group
Korea Institute of Materials Science (KIMS)
Tel: +82-55-280-3378
Fax: +82-55-280-3389


Prof. Pamela Thomas

University of Warwick
Dept of Physics
Coventry CV4 7AL
United Kingdom
Phone: 6523354
Fax: 6692016


Prof. Mirza Bichurin

University of Warwick

Coventry CV4 7AL
United Kingdom


Prof. Ashish Garg

IIT Kanpur



Danilo Suvorov

Head, Advanced Materials Dept
Jozef Stefan Institute
Advanced Materials Department
Phone: 386-1-477-3871



Electronics Division 2013 Best Student Poster Presentation Awards:
Pictured from left to right: Charlie Spahr, ACerS’ Executive Director; Quanxi Jia, Electronics Division Chair; Michelle Nolan, University of Florida; Bryan Huey, Secretary of the Basic Science Division; Ali Henriques, University of Florida; Tim Haugan, Electronics Division Vice Chair; Jonathan Mackey, Case Western Reserve University; Geoff Brennecka, Electronics Division Secretary Elect


Henry Award

2012 Electronics Division: Edward C. Henry Award Winner: Juan Nino.  Pictured from left to right: Haiyan Wang, Juan Nino and Quanxi Jia




















2012 Electronics Division: Lewis C. Hoffman Scholarship Winner: Samuel A. Miller
Pictured from left to right: Haiyan Wang, Samuel Miller and Quanxi Jia























from left to right: Clive Randall, Brady Gibbons, Dennis Shay and Geoff Brennecka
















The Electronics Division celebrated its 50th Anniversary in 2008. Read the commemorative brochure on the history of the division, put together by Bob Schwartz for the October 2008 division business meeting in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.


The Electronics Division of The American Ceramic Society was established by the Board of Trustees at its December 1957 meeting on recommendation from a newly created Electronic Ceramic Advisory Committee, composed of Seymour Blum, Edward J. Smoke and E. C. Henry, who acted as chairman of the committee. The division held its first sessions at the 60th Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh, PA, in April 1958. This was followed by a first Fall Meeting at Asbury Park, NJ, October 8-10, which was attended by 198 registered participants.


 History of the First Ferroelectric Oxide Ba TiO3


 Proceedings of 1985 Electronics Division Business Meeting

Front row:  Siu-Wai Chan, Ruyan Guo, Winnie Wong-Ng.  Back row:  Man Yan, Robert Payne, Bob Schwartz, Mani Nair

Some Electronics Division members (who are also Fellows) gathered at MS&T’08 in Pittsburgh, PA.  Front row: Siu-Wai Chan, Ruyan Guo, Winnie Wong-Ng. Back row: Man Yan, David Payne, Bob Schwartz, Mani Nair


















Electronics Division Members who are ACerS Fellows

 Fellows Nomination Form


 Membership Information

Job Opportunities  

ACerS Career Center


Back to Previous Page
« « Previous Post     |    Next Post » »

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑