Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

Electronic Materials and Applications 2011


Final Program


Meeting Description

Download the Final Program to schedule each day. Electronic Materials and Applications 2011, jointly programmed by the Electronics Division and Basic Science Division of ACerS, will focus on electronic ceramics for energy generation, conversion and storage applications, and it will bring together leaders and experts in the field to address the materials related challenges to these topics.


Who Should Attend  

EMA 2011 is designed for materials scientists, engineers, students, researchers and manufacturers with an interest in renewable energy, innovative hybrid and all-electric transportation development, electrical ceramics and advanced microelectronics. The meeting will continue to foster and facilitate these relationships. EMA 2011 will feature these Plenary Speakers: Akira Ando, Murata; Patricia Dehmer, DOE; Roop Mahajan, Virginia Tech; Lynnette Madsen, NSF; and Ronald G. Polcawich, US Army Research Lab.



The technical program will include invited lectures, contributed papers, poster presentations, roundtables on emerging topics, and participation of the President’s Council of Student Advisers, the Society’s student-led group. With increased investment in renewable energy, “smart grid” technologies, all-electric vehicles and innovative hybrid transportation development, electrical ceramics are positioned as the key enabler of technologies. There is growing interest in energy harvesting, integrated sensors, bio-inspired vehicles &systems, and advanced functional microelectronics where integrated electrical ceramics & composites will play a key role. EMA 2011 aims to provide the current state-of-the-art in applications of these materials, the fundamental science of materials processing, and advanced methods for materials integration.



Online registration is closed. Please register for EMA 2011 onsite.


On or Before

December 21, 2010


December 21, 2010

Member $515 $640
Nonmember $635 $760
Emeritus/Senior $395 $520
One-Day Member $395 $520

One-Day Nonmember

$515 $640
Material Advantage Student Member $135 $210
Student: Nonmember $175 $250
Companion* $60 $60

Note: Registration includes coffee breaks, Welcome Reception, Conference Dinner.

*Companion Registration includes the Welcome Reception and Conference Dinner. Add this option when you register yourself.



Authors are requested to submit original work and review articles for publication in the meeting proceedings titled “Electronic Materials Applications.” All papers for the proceedings will have to pass a two reviewer based peer-review process. It is our intention to maintain high quality of this proceeding and make this publication a highly desired venue for reporting quality science.


Meeting Organization  

Organizing Committee

Shashank Priya
Virginia Tech
Juan C. Nino
University of Florida
Quanxi Jia
Los Alamos National Lab


Technical Programming Committee

Paul Clem, Sandia National Labs; Amit Goyal, Oak Ridge National Lab; Jacob Jones, University of Florida; Jian Luo, Clemson University; Wolfgang M. Sigmund, University of Florida; Clive Randall, Pennsylvania State University; Susan Troiler-Mckinstry, Pennsylvania State University; Juan Nino, University of Florida; Qi Tan, General Electric; Victoria Knox, PCSA; Nian Sun, Northeastern University; Steven Tidrow, University of Texas Pan American; Kristen Brosnan, General Electric; Alp Sehirlioglu, NASA-Glenn; Jeff Zhand, APC International; Thomas Daue, Smart Material Inc.; Michelle Bell, Radiant Technologies; Ahmad Safari, Rutgers University; Takaaki Tsurumi, Tokyo Institute of Technology.


International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC)
Jurgen Roedel, Darmstadt University of Technology; Michael Glazer, Clarendon Laboratory; Haosu Luo, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Sahn Nahm, Korea University; Jungho Ryu, Functional Ceramics Group, Korea Institute of Materials Science (KIMS)


Basic Science Division Officers

Chair: Helen M. Chan
Chair-Elect: Scott Misture
Vice Chair: Kevin Trumble
Secretary: Jian Luo

Programming Chairs (2011):

Daniel Mumm and Jian Luo

Past Chair: Keith Bowman

Electronics Division Officers

Trustee: Dwight Viehland
Chair: Shashank Priya
Chair-Elect: Amit Goyal
Vice-chair: Quanxi Jia
Secretary: Tim Haugan
Secretary-Elect: Steven C. Tidrow
Programming Chairs (2011):

Quanxi Jia

Past Chair: Paul Clem



EMA 2011 Meeting Links:

EMA 2011 Home
Final Program
Advance Brochure
Plenary Speakers
Hotel & Travel Information
Corporate Sponsorship

Back to Top ↑