Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

G9: Innovative Processing of Metal Oxide Nanostructures, Heterostructures and Composite Materials for Energy Storage and Production


This symposium will focus on the functional and multifunctional inorganic materials and techniques that offer advanced processing, improved properties, and low-cost/low-temperature synthesis, with a strong focus on the recent innovation in nanotechnological approaches and the assessment of their industrial impact. In particular, special emphasis will be given to novel synthesis approaches, functionalization, processing, and characterization of nanoparticles, nanowires, nanoscopic films and their heterostructures. Application of nanostructures in catalysis, energy and sensing applications, nanocomposites in structural lightweight materials, nanostructured coatings for photovoltaic, bio-medical and optical applications will form the major scientific thrust areas.


It will provide an international forum for the presentation of technological advances in innovative processing and device applications of new materials to meet the challenges of sustainable energy and environment technologies.


Proposed Session Topics:

  • Processing of functional nanomaterials: Electrospinning, plasma-assisted chemical vapor deposition, atomic layer deposition and microwave-enhanced synthesis, sol-gel, and chemical solution techniques
  • Synthesis, functionalization and assembly of nanomaterials
  • Interfacial materials and multi-material heterostructures and nanocomposites
  • One and two dimensional materials and heterostructures for energy harvesting and storage
  • Perovskite-based photovoltaic cells
  • Piezoelectric nanostructures for self-powered systems
  • Nanodevices: Fabrication and large-scale integration
  • Nanomaterials for renewable fuels and energy generation
  • Nanomaterials for photocatalysis and solar hydrogen production



  • Sanjay Mathur, University of Cologne, Germany, mathurs@uni-koeln.de
  • Tohru Sekino, Osaka University, Japan
  • KwangHo Kim, Busan National University, Korea
  • Silke Christiansen, Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin, Germany
  • Ausrine Bartasyte, Université Franche-Comté, Besancon, France
  • Hidehiro Kamiya, Tokyo University of Agriculture & Technology, Japan
  • Gunnar Westin, Uppsala University, Sweden
  • Alberto Vomiero, Lulea University, Sweden

Back to Top ↑