Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

SYMPOSIUM 5: Professor Jacques Lucas Honorary Symposium



This symposium is held in honor of the outstanding professional career of Professor Jacques Lucas, who has pioneered the research and development of infrared materials, especially in fluoride glasses and fibers and chalcogenide glasses, during the past five decades. He founded and headed the CNRS Glass and Ceramic Lab at University of Rennes for 30 years, published more than 450 articles, coauthored several books, and trained numerous students. Four start-up companies were founded based on the laboratory discoveries. Lucas is a Fellow of The American Ceramic Society and a member of French Academy of Sciences.


This symposium brings together colleagues, former students, and friends of Lucas to celebrate his grand teaching and research career by presenting their current research results. This symposium welcomes presentations covering all aspects of non-oxide glasses, including, but not limited to, structural characterization, structure–property relationship, novel processing methods, compositional trends, and advances in physical properties, such as optical, thermal, electrical, and mechanical behavior. Technological applications of non-oxide glasses also are of interest, including, but not limited to, the fields of energy, sensing, optics, biomedical, phase change material, and microelectronics. Presentations covering new developments in chalcogenide, halide, metallic organic glasses, and all types of non-oxides glass compositions are welcome. The symposium will consist of invited talks and contributed talks.


  • Synthesis and composition of non-oxide glasses
  • Structure, transition, relaxation, and modeling of non-oxide glasses
  • Rare-earth-doped non-oxide glasses
  • Non-oxide glasses for passive applications
  • Specialty optical fibers
  • Non-oxide glasses for energy applications



Shibin Jiang, Photonics Inc.

Xiang-hua Zhang, Université de Rennes, France

Bruno Bureau, Université de Rennes, France

Jean-Luc Adam, Université de Rennes, France

Pierre Lucas, University of Arizona

S.K. Sundaram, Alfred University



Back to Top ↑