Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

April 9th, 2013

The American Ceramic Society announces its 2012 Class of Fellows

Published on April 9th, 2013 | By: Eileen De Guire

September 15, 2012 (click for PDF version of this release)


WESTERVILLE, OH -The American Ceramic Society (ACerS) today announced the names of the organization’s 20 members elevated to Fellow status for 2012.


Elevation to “Fellow” is a peer recognition-each nomination is signed by at least seven ACerS members, and the new class is selected by the Society’s Panel of Fellows. Fellows are selected for their outstanding contributions to the ceramic arts or sciences, either through broad and productive scholarship in ceramic science and technology, by conspicuous achievement in ceramic industry or by outstanding service to the Society.


This year’s class will be inducted at the Society’s Annual Awards and Honors Banquet on Oct. 8, 2012, in Pittsburgh, Pa.


The new Fellows, who represent an international cross-section of leaders in academia, research labs, industry and government, include:


Jun Akedo, prime senior research scientist, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Tsukuba Science City, Japan).
Allen Apblett, professor in the Chemistry Department at Oklahoma State University (Stillwater, Okla.).
Alex Cozzi, Fellow Engineer, Savannah River National Laboratory, Department of Energy’s Savannah River Site (Aiken, S.C.)
Matthew Dejneka, senior research associate, Corning Inc.’s Glass Research Group (Corning, N.Y.).
Doreen Edwards, professor, Materials Science and Engineering and Dean of the Kazuo Inamori School of Engineering, Alfred University (Alfred, N.Y.).
Lian Gao, professor, Shanghai Jiao Tong University (Shanghai, China).
Curtis A. Johnson, principal scientist (retired), Ceramics and Metallurgy Technologies, GE Research (Niskayuna, N.Y.).
Carlos G. Levi, professor, Materials and Mechanical Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara (Santa Barbara, Calif.)
Hong Li, staff scientist, PPG Industries Inc. (Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Bryan J. McEntire, chief technology officer, Amedica Corp. (Salt Lake City, Utah).
Fred Stover, principal, chair and founder of Matrix Enterprises (Waterville, Ohio).
G. Sundararajan, director, International Advanced Research Centre for Powder Metallurgy and New Materials, Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory (Hyderabad, India)
Masasuke Takata, professor and vice president, Nagaoka University of Technology; director of the Japan Fine Ceramics Center (Japan).
Tadashi Takenaka, professor, Electrical Engineering, Tokyo University of Science (Noda, Japan).
Eric D. Wachsman, director, University of Maryland Energy Research Center; professor, Materials Science and Engineering and Chemical Engineering, University of Maryland (College Park, Md.)


Detailed biographical information on each of these award winners is available at www.ceramics.org/awards.


About ACerS
Founded in 1898, The American Ceramics Society is the professional membership organization for international ceramics and materials scientists, engineers, researchers, manufacturers, plant personnel, educators and students. Drawing members from 60 countries, ACerS serves the informational, educational and professional needs of its 6,000 members, and provides them with access to periodicals and books, meetings and expositions, and technical information. ACerS also maintain an extensive materials-science website (www.ceramics.org) that provides online access to its journals, publications, science and career forums and specialized technical knowledge centers.

Back to Previous Page
« « Previous Post     |    Next Post » »


Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑