

2012/2013 Division & Class Report to the ACerS Board of Directors

Division/Class: Nuclear and Environmental Technology

Current Division/Class Officers:	
Chair:	Elizabeth Hoffman, Savannah River National Laboratory
Vice-chair:	Ram Devanathan, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Secretary:	Josef Matyáš, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Programming Committee Chair	Raghunath Kanakala, University of Idaho
Trustee:	Linda Jones, Alfred University

Incoming Division Officers: (complete as appropriate for your Division or Class)

Chair:	Ram Devanathan, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Vice-chair:	Josef Matyáš, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Secretary:	Raghunath Kanakala, University of Idaho
Programming Committee Chair	Yutai Katoh, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Trustee:	Linda Jones, Alfred University

Summary of Meetings and Activities Held/To Be Held (from Oct. 2012 through Oct. 2013):

NETD is providing programming for the MS&T'13 conference with NETD members serving in program organizer roles. NETD is sponsoring symposia and the proceedings will be published in the *Ceramic Transactions* series.

NETD co-sponsored a symposium at ICACC'13 with the Engineering Ceramics Division, titled "Advanced Ceramics and Composites for Nuclear Applications."

Future Planned Meetings/Activities (from Nov. 2013 – October 2014):

NETD provided programming for MS&T'14 conference with NETD members serving in program organizing roles. Proceedings will be published in the *Ceramic Transactions* series.

NETD is organizing symposia entitled "Materials Development for Nuclear Applications and Extreme Environments" and "Materials Issues in Nuclear Waste Management in the 21st Century" for MS&T 2014

NETD led organizing of ICACC'14 conference symposium "Advanced Ceramics and Composites for Sustainable Nuclear Energy and Fusion Energy."

NETD members are leading the organization of 2014 MRS Fall Meeting Symposium titled, "Scientific Basis for Nuclear Waste Management XXXVII"

New Initiatives/Opportunities: none

Action Items for ACerS Board Consideration at October 26, 2013 meeting: none

Issues/Concerns: none

Additional Items of Note:

Vijay Jain has been selected as the recipient of the 2013 D.T. Rankin Award.

The Division selected "Migration of Iodine Solidified in Ettringite into Compacted Bentonite" by Kazuya Idemitsu, Yoshihiko Matsuki, Masanao Kishimoto, Yaohiro Inagaki, Tatsumi Arima, Yoshiko Haraguchi, Yi Yamashita, and Michitaka Sasoh for the Best Paper Award.

Several student travel stipends will be awarded by NETD again this year to support students attending MS&T'13. The program is in its eighth consecutive year, and has supported over 40 students during this time. This award represents the majority of NETD's annual funding.

Financial Statement: attached

Submitted By: Elizabeth Hoffman, Division Chair, Elizabeth.Hoffman@srnl.doe.gov