

2015/2016 Division & Class Report to the ACerS Board of Directors

Division/Class: Nuclear and Environmental Technology Division

Current Division/Class Officers: (complete as appropriate for your Division or Class)

Chair: Raghunath Kanakala (University of Idaho)
Vice-chair: Yutai Katoh (Oak Ridge national Laboratory)

Secretary: Jake Amoroso (Savannah River National Laboratory)

Program Committee Chair: Kumar Sridharan (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Division Advisor: Kevin Fox (Savannah River National Laboratory)

Incoming Division Officers: (complete as appropriate for your Division or Class)

Note: NETD Will Change officers at ACerS Annual Meeting at MS&T 2016

Chair: Yutai Katoh ((Oak Ridge national Laboratory)

Vice-chair: Jake Amoroso (Savannah River National Laboratory) Secretary: Kumar Sridharan (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Program Committee Chair: Cory Trivelpiece (Savannah River National Laboratory)

Division Advisor: Kevin Fox (Savannah River National Laboratory)

Summary of Meetings and Activities Held/To Be Held (from Oct. 2015 through Oct. 2016):

MS&T15 (October 4-8, 2015, Columbus, OH, USA): NETD organized two symposia "Materials Development for Nuclear Applications and Extreme Environments" (41 Presentations) and "Materials Issues in Nuclear Waste Management in the 21st Century" (44 Presentations).

ICACC'16 (January 24-29, 2016, Daytona Beach, FL, USA): NETD Organized symposium on "International Symposium on Advanced Materials for Sustainable Nuclear Energy and Fusion Energy" (46 Presentations).

MS&T16 (October 22-27, 2016, Salt Lake City, UT, USA): NETD organized two symposia "Materials Development for Nuclear Applications and Extreme Environments" and "Materials Issues in Nuclear Waste Management in the 21st Century" (47 Presentations). The symposia have received 55 and 48 abstracts, respectively.

Future Planned Meetings/Activities (from Nov. 2016 – October 2017):

ICACC'17 (January 22-27, 2017, Daytona Beach, FL, USA): NETD organize Symposium 13, "Advanced Materials for Sustainable Nuclear Energy and Fusion Energy".

PACRIM 12 (May 21-26, 2017, Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA) NETD will co-organize Symposium 25: "Ceramics for Next Generation Nuclear Energy" and Symposium 30: "Glasses and Ceramics for Nuclear and Hazardous Waste Treatment."

MS&T17 (October 8-12, 2017, Pittsburgh, PA, USA): NETD will organize two symposia "Materials Issues in Nuclear Waste Management" and "Materials for Nuclear Energy Applications".

New Initiatives/Opportunities:

NETD introduced new Best Student Presentation award starting 2016 which will be presented to graduate or undergraduate student presenting oral presentation at NETD sponsored symposiums at MS&T. Hereafter annual NETD will offer this award.

Action Items for ACerS Board Consideration at October 22, 2016 meeting:

Issues/Concerns:

Additional Items of Note:

The D.T. Rankin Award will be presented to Prof. Theodore Besmann from University of South Carolina during the general business meeting (Monday, October 24th, 5:45-6:30 pm) for exemplary service to the Nuclear & Environmental Technology Division of The American Ceramic Society. As part of this award, Prof. Besmann will present an invited lecture on "Thermochemical Modeling of Nuclear Fuel and Its Use in Fuel Performance Codes" in the symposium "Materials Development for Nuclear Applications and Extreme Environments" in the session "Advanced Modeling in Nuclear Materials." This presentation is scheduled at 8:00 a.m. on Monday October 24th.

The NETD Best Paper Award goes to Tomofumi Sakuragi, Yu Yamashita, and Shigeto Kikuchi from Radioactive Waste Management Funding and Research Center, Tokyo, Japan for their contribution "Effect of Hydration Heat on Iodine Distribution in Gypsum-Additive Calcium Aluminate Cement" presented at MS&T15 conference in Columbus at symposium "Materials Issues in Nuclear Waste Management in the 21st Century."

Four student stipends of \$500 each will be awarded at MS&T16. This year's winners will be announced after the September 15, 2016 deadline. Complimentary GGRN registration waiver worth \$30 will be awarded to 16 graduate students, selected from the pool of applications submitted for travel stipend award.

Financial Statement: (Including year-end summary of expenditures from the Division's Funds) attached

Submitted By: Raghunath Kanakala, Chair, NETD kanakala@uidaho.edu