# CALL FOR NOMINATIONS THE W.A. WEYL INTERNATIONAL GLASS SCIENCE AWARD

# PURPOSE OF THE AWARD

To recognize the abilities of a young scientist who would like to present a paper at an International Congress on Glass, and to provide funds to make this possible.

### ELIGIBILITY

Any young scientist 35 years old or less, whose research and publications in the field of glass science shows ingenuity, initiative, and above all, innovative thinking. Recipients of this award may be nominated by themselves, their colleagues, teachers, supervisors, or other appropriate persons.

### AWARD

Provides travel expenses, room and board, registration fees and incidental expenses for the recipient's attendance at the 24th International Congress on Glass in Shanghai, China April 7-11, 2016. The recipient must present a paper at the Congress and provide a manuscript. A certificate and a suitable memento will be presented during the Congress.

### DEADLINES

Nominations with supporting material must be received no later than **December 31**, **2015**.

Supporting material will include letter(s) of recommendation along with the nominee's CV and list of publications; the selection committee may request additional supporting information.

The winner will be notified before January 31, 2016.

# SELECTION PROCEDURE

An anonymous selection committee is appointed by the USA delegates to the International Glass Commission. The award is co-sponsored by the International Commission on Glass and the Pennsylvania State University.

#### **SEND NOMINATIONS TO:**

Chair of the Glass & Optical Materials Division of The American Ceramic Society who will distribute the nomination material to the selection committee. Nominations by email are acceptable. Send to:

Dr. Randall E. Youngman Corning Incorporated Science & Technology Division Corning, NY 14831 USA youngmanre@corning.com

## **PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS**

1977	Peter Schultz	Corning, USA
1980	Denis Ravaine	University of Grenoble, France
1983	Bruno Smets	Phillips, The Netherlands

1986	George Scherer	Dupont, USA
1989	Terry Michalske	Sandia, USA
1992	Yuichi Watanabe	Nagaoka Univ. of Tech, Japan
1995	Edward Pope	Matech, USA
1998	Sabyasachi Sen	University of Wales, UK
2001	Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem	Friedrich-Schiller Univ. Jena,
Germany		
2004	Matthew J. Dejneka	Corning, USA
2007	Akitoshi Hayashi	Osaka University, Japan
2010	John Mauro	Corning, USA
2013	Lothar Wondraczek	Friedrich-Schiller Univ. Jena,
Germany		