THE AMERICAN CERAMIC SOCIETY 2016 SOCIETY AWARD WINNERS

Awards to be presented at the ACerS Awards Banquet, October 24, 2016

AWARD	NOMINEE	COMPANY AFFILIATION
Pellows Fellows	James E. Houseman Harry L. Tuller Adrian C. Wright Michael L. Alexander Francis Cambier Chonglin Chen Gregory S. Corman Ted Day Robert J. Flatt K. T. Jacob Kazumi Kato Young-Wook Kim Jian Luo Sharon L. Marra Alexander Michaelis Hitoshi Ohsato Randy Youngman Edgar D. Zanotto	Harrop Industries, Inc. Massachusetts Institute of Technology University of Reading, UK Riverside Refractories Belgian Ceramic Research Centre Univ. of Texas at San Antonio GE Global Research Mo-Sci Corporation ETH Zurich Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore National Inst. of Advanced Industrial Sci. and Technology, Japan Univ. of Seoul, South Korea Univ. of California, San Diego Savannah River National Laboratory Fraunhofer Inst. for Ceramic Technologies and Systems ITKS Nagoya Industrial Science Research Institute Corning Incorporated Federal University of Sao Carlos
Edward Orton Jr. Memorial Lecture	Bruce Dunn	Univ. of California, Los Angeles

Ross Coffin Purdy Award (5 authors)	Prabeer Barpanda Univ of Tokyo, Kyoto Univ., Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore Gosuke Oyama Univ. of Tokyo Shin-ichi Nishimura Univ. of Tokyo, Kyoto Univ. Sai-Cheong Chung Univ. of Tokyo Atsuo Yamada Univ of Tokyo, Kyoto Univ.	Title of winning article: A 3.8-V earth-abundant sodium battery electrode Published in: Nature Communications, 5: 4358, 2014
John Jeppson Award	Tatsuki Ohji	AIST, Japan
Karl Schwartzwalder-Professional Achievement in Ceramic Engineering Award	John Mauro	Corning Incorporated
Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars	Lane W. Martin	Univ. of California, Berkeley
Frontiers of Science and Society – Rustum Roy Lecture	Cato T. Laurencin	Univ. of Connecticut Health Center
W. David Kingery Award	Alexandra Navrotsky	Univ. of California, Davis
Richard M. Fulrath Awards (5 awardees)	American Academic Bryan Huey American Industrial James Hemrick	Univ. of Connecticut Reno Refractories, Inc.

	Japanese Academic Tadachika Nakayama Japanese Industrials Tomoyuki Nakamura and Yoshiki Iwazaki	Nagaoka Univ. of Technology Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd. Taiyo Yuden Co., Ltd.
Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award (10 authors)	Andrea Quaini CEA, DANS/DPC/SCCME/LM2T, Centre de Saclay, France Christine Guéneau CEA, DANS/DPC/SCCME/LM2T, Centre de Saclay, France Stéphane Gossé CEA, DANS/DPC/SCCME/LM2T, Centre de Saclay, France Bo Sundman INSTN, CEA Saclay, France Dario Manara European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Transuranium Elements, Germany Anna L. Smith European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Transuranium Elements, Germany	Article: High temperature investigation of the solid/liquid transition in the PuO ₂ -UO ₂ -ZrO ₂ system Published in: Journal of Nuclear Materials 467 (2015) 660-676

Corporate Environmental Achievement Award	David Bottomley European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Transuranium Elements, Germany Patrick Lajarge European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Transuranium Elements, Germany Markus Ernstberger European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Transuranium Elements, Germany Fiqiri Hodaj Univ. of Grenoble Alpes, SIMAP, France and CNRS, Grenoble INP, SIMAP, France	Environmental achievement: Development and commercialization of
		the zirconia oxygen sensor, used for cleaning exhaust gas and improving automobile fuel performance
Corporate Technical	Joint award:	Technical achievement:
Achievement Award	Semiconductor Energy Laboratory Co., Ltd (SEL), Japan	Discovery of a new type of oxide semiconductor CAAC-IGZO; the caxis aligned crystalline (CAAC) indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO)
	Sharp Corporation, Japan	

Medal for Leadership in the Advancement of Ceramic Technology:	Americas: Attinganal N. Sreeram	Sr. Vice President Research & Development, and Chief Technology Officer, Dow Chemical Co., Michigan
Two medals	and	
	Outside of the Americas:	
	Shunpei Yamazaki	President and Founder, Semiconductor Energy Laboratory Co., Ltd., Japan
Du-Co Ceramics Scholarship Award	Roman Palvanov	Univ. of Wisconsin
Du-Co Ceramics Young Professionals Award	Ed Gorzkowski	Naval Research Lab
Basic Science Division Sosman Lecture 2016	Jennifer Lewis	Harvard Univ.
CEC Outstanding Educator Award	Wayne Huebner	Missouri Univ. of Science and Technology
ACerS-NICE Arthur L. Friedberg Ceramic Engineering Tutorial and Lecture	Aldo Boccaccini	University of Erlangen-Nuremberg Institute of Biomaterials
ACerS-NICE Greaves-Walker Award	Denis Brosnan	Clemson Univ.
Varshneya Frontiers of Glass	Science: Matteo Ciccotti	ESPCI – SIMM, France
Lectures (lectures given at the GOMD May 2016 Annual Meeting)	Technology: Matt Dejneka	Corning Incorporated