THE AMERICAN CERAMIC SOCIETY 2016 SOCIETY AWARD WINNERS

Awards to be presented at the ACerS Awards Banquet, October 24, 2016

AWARD	NOMINEE	COMPANY AFFILIATION
Distinguished Life Members Fellows	James E. Houseman Harry L. Tuller Adrian C. Wright Michael L. Alexander Francis Cambier Chonglin Chen Gregory S. Corman Ted Day Robert J. Flatt K. T. Jacob Kazumi Kato Young-Wook Kim Jian Luo Sharon L. Marra Alexander Michaelis Hitoshi Ohsato Randy Youngman Edgar D. Zanotto	Harrop Industries, Inc. Massachusetts Institute of Technology University of Reading, UK Riverside Refractories Belgian Ceramic Research Centre Univ. of Texas at San Antonio GE Global Research Mo-Sci Corporation ETH Zurich Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore National Inst. of Advanced Industrial Sci. and Technology, Japan Univ. of Seoul, South Korea Univ. of California, San Diego Savannah River National Laboratory Fraunhofer Inst. for Ceramic Technologies and Systems ITKS Nagoya Industrial Science Research Institute Corning Incorporated Federal University of Sao Carlos
Edward Orton Jr. Memorial Lecture	Bruce Dunn	Univ. of California, Los Angeles

Prabeer Barpanda Univ of Tokyo, Kyoto Univ., Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore Gosuke Oyama Univ. of Tokyo Shin-ichi Nishimura Univ. of Tokyo, Kyoto Univ. Sai-Cheong Chung Univ. of Tokyo Atsuo Yamada Univ of Tokyo, Kyoto Univ.	Title of winning article: A 3.8-V earth-abundant sodium battery electrode Published in: Nature Communications, 5: 4358, 2014
Tatsuki Ohji	AIST, Japan
John Mauro	Corning Incorporated
Lane W. Martin	Univ. of California, Berkeley
Cato T. Laurencin	Univ. of Connecticut Health Center
Alexandra Navrotsky	Univ. of California, Davis
American Academic Bryan Huey American Industrial James Hemrick	Univ. of Connecticut Oak Ridge National Lab
	Univ of Tokyo, Kyoto Univ., Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore Gosuke Oyama Univ. of Tokyo Shin-ichi Nishimura Univ. of Tokyo, Kyoto Univ. Sai-Cheong Chung Univ. of Tokyo Atsuo Yamada Univ of Tokyo, Kyoto Univ. Tatsuki Ohji John Mauro Lane W. Martin Cato T. Laurencin Alexandra Navrotsky American Academic Bryan Huey

	Japanese Academic Tadachika Nakayama Japanese Industrials Tomoyuki Nakamura and Yoshiki Iwazaki	Nagaoka Univ. of Technology Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd. Taiyo Yuden Co., Ltd.
Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award (10 authors)	Andrea Quaini CEA, DANS/DPC/SCCME/LM2T, Centre de Saclay, France Christine Guéneau CEA, DANS/DPC/SCCME/LM2T, Centre de Saclay, France Stéphane Gossé CEA, DANS/DPC/SCCME/LM2T, Centre de Saclay, France Bo Sundman INSTN, CEA Saclay, France Dario Manara European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Transuranium Elements, Germany Anna L. Smith European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Transuranium Elements, Germany	Article: High temperature investigation of the solid/liquid transition in the PuO ₂ -UO ₂ -ZrO ₂ system Published in: Journal of Nuclear Materials 467 (2015) 660-676

	David Bottomley European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Transuranium Elements, Germany Patrick Lajarge European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Transuranium Elements, Germany Markus Ernstberger European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Institute for Transuranium Elements, Germany Fiqiri Hodaj Univ. of Grenoble Alpes, SIMAP, France and CNRS, Grenoble INP, SIMAP, France	
Corporate Environmental Achievement Award	NGK Spark Plug Co., Ltd.	Environmental achievement: Development and commercialization of the zirconia oxygen sensor, used for cleaning exhaust gas and improving automobile fuel performance
Corporate Technical Achievement Award	Joint award: Semiconductor Energy Laboratory Co., Ltd (SEL), Japan and Sharp Corporation, Japan	Technical achievement: Discovery of a new type of oxide semiconductor CAAC-IGZO; the caxis aligned crystalline (CAAC) indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO)

Medal for Leadership in the Advancement of Ceramic Technology: Two medals	Americas: Attinganal N. Sreeram and	Sr. Vice President Research & Development, and Chief Technology Officer, Dow Chemical Co., Michigan
	Outside of the Americas: Shunpei Yamazaki	President and Founder, Semiconductor Energy Laboratory Co., Ltd., Japan
Du-Co Ceramics Scholarship Award	Roman Palvanov	Univ. of Wisconsin
Du-Co Ceramics Young Professionals Award	Ed Gorzkowski	Naval Research Lab
Basic Science Division Sosman Lecture 2016	Jennifer Lewis	Harvard Univ.
CEC Outstanding Educator Award	Wayne Huebner	Missouri Univ. of Science and Technology
ACerS-NICE Arthur L. Friedberg Ceramic Engineering Tutorial and Lecture	Aldo Boccaccini	University of Erlangen-Nuremberg Institute of Biomaterials
ACerS-NICE Greaves-Walker Award	Denis Brosnan	Clemson Univ.
Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Lectures (lectures given at the GOMD May 2016 Annual Meeting)	Science: Matteo Ciccotti Technology: Matt Dejneka	ESPCI – SIMM, France Corning Incorporated