Cements Division presents awards at recent meeting | The American Ceramic Society

Cements Division presents awards at recent meeting

The ACerS Cements Division recently concluded their 5th Advances in Cement-based Materials meeting at Tennessee Tech University in Cookeville, TN.  The division officers presented a number of awards to deserving winners.

Congratulations to:

2014 Della Roy Lecture Award: Ellis Gartner, Scientific Director (Chemisty), Lafarge Central Research, France

Lecture title: 40 Years a Cement Scientist – can this be sustainable?

2013 Stephen Brunauer Award: Jeffrey J. Thomas, Schlumberger-Doll Research, MA

Winning paper: The Instantaneous Apparent Activation Energy of Cement Hydration Measured Using a Novel Calorimetry-Based Method

Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 95 [10] 3291-3296 (2012)

Student Poster Winners: 

Ojas Chaudhari, Tennessee Technological University

Christopher Galitz, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

William Hunnicutt, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Alvaro Paul, Georgia Institute of Technology

Mohammad Rashidi, Georgia Institute of Technology

Peter Stynoski, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and US Army Construction Engineering Research Laboratory

Raikhan Tokpatayeva, Purdue University

Take a look at the photo gallery on the bottom of ceramics.org that features pictures from the meeting, including these winners!