Erica Zimmerman

ECD Secretary Nominations Deadline: July 31, 2020

By Erica Zimmerman / June 29, 2020

The ECD Nominating Committee invites nominations for the incoming 2020–2021 division secretary candidate. Nominees will be presented for approval at the ECD Annual Business meeting at MS&T20. Nominations and a short description of the candidate’s qualifications, should be submitted by July 31, 2020 to: Nominating Committee Chair: Manabu Fukushima:, National Institute of Advanced Industrial…

Read More

2020-2021 Slate of ACerS Officers

By Erica Zimmerman / May 29, 2020

The new slate of 2020-2021 ACerS Officers Slate has been determined. There were no contested offices and no write-in candidates, automatically making all nominees “elected.” The new term begins at the end of ACerS Annual Meeting/MS&T20, October 8, 2020.

Read More

MS&T20 Registrations: Distinguished Life, Emeritus and Senior Members

By Erica Zimmerman / May 20, 2020

ACerS 122nd Annual Meeting takes place October 4 – 8, 2020 in Pittsburgh, Pa. during MS&T. MS&T affords you an opportunity like no other. You have the chance to hear the latest technical advances and cutting-edge developments in the materials science community, connect with friends, and network with your peers. Make your plans to attend today!…

Read More

Henry and Hoffman awards: extended nomination deadline

By Erica Zimmerman / May 5, 2020

The Electronics Division’s Lewis C. Hoffman Scholarship and Edward C. Henry Awards have an extended deadline of June 15, 2020. Each award’s description and nomination details may be found at ACerS Awards Page. Electronics:  Edward C. Henry Award This award is given annually to an outstanding paper reporting original work in the Journal of the…

Read More

2020 Society Awardees Announced

By Erica Zimmerman / April 15, 2020

The American Ceramic Society’s 2020 awardees have been selected. Awards will be presented at ACerS Annual Meeting in conjunction with MS&T20 October 4 – 8, 2020 in Pittsburgh, Pa., USA. Congratulations to the 2020 awardees!

Read More

Samuel Geijsbeek PACRIM International Award nominations due May 23, 2020

By Erica Zimmerman / March 31, 2020

The Geijsbeek PACRIM International Award recognizes individuals who are members of the Pacific Rim Conference (PACRIM) societies for their contributions in the field of ceramics and glass technology that have resulted in significant industrial and/or academic impact, international advocacy, and visibility of the field. Industrial candidates will be evaluated based on the technology development and…

Read More

Nominations open for ECD Mueller, Bridge Building, Jubilee Global Diversity and Global Young Investigator awards

By Erica Zimmerman / March 3, 2020

The Engineering Ceramics Division invites nominations for the 2021 James I. Mueller, Bridge Building, Jubilee Global Diversity and Global Young Investigator awards. The deadline for submitting nominations for all four awards is July 1, 2020. The Mueller Award recognizes the enormous contributions of James I. Mueller to the Engineering Ceramics Division and to the field of engineering ceramics.…

Read More

The European Ceramic Society-American Ceramic Society Joint Award

By Erica Zimmerman / February 21, 2020

The European Ceramic Society-American Ceramic Society Joint Award recognizes individuals who foster international cooperation between The American Ceramic Society and The European Ceramic Society, in demonstration of both organizations’ commitment to work together to better serve the international ceramics community. The award shall be presented in alternate years at the ACerS Annual Meeting event (held…

Read More

Electronics Division names best student posters and presentations from EMA 2020

By Erica Zimmerman / February 10, 2020

The Electronics Division presented awards for outstanding student work during the January 2020 Conference on Electronic Materials and Applications in Orlando, Fla. Congratulations to these students: Poster Competition EMA 2020: 1st place: Ayana Ghosh – University of Connecticut “Design of novel molecular ferroelectrics using first-principles based and machine learning approaches” 2nd place: Nicole Bartek –…

Read More

2019 Roland B. Snow award and ceramographic competition winners announced

By Erica Zimmerman / October 11, 2019

The Ceramographic Exhibit & Competition, is an annual poster exhibit to promote the use of microscopy and microanalysis as tools in the scientific investigation of ceramic materials. This year’s competition was held during the ACerS Annual Meeting in September in Portland, Or., in the Oregon Convention Center. Winners were selected for the scanning electron microscopy,…

Read More