Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

October 6th, 2013

National Institute of Ceramic Engineers

Published on October 6th, 2013 | By: pwray@ceramics.org

Join NICE Today!


ACerS/NICE is the premier ceramic engineering professional organization. All members may join NICE at no additional cost. Not a NICE Member yet? Contact customer service at customerservice@ceramics.org and they can add NICE to your membership.


Primary Activities Include:


ACerS/NICE is the lead organization for accreditation of collegiate programs in glass and ceramic engineering through the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET). This includes working with TMS to evaluate materials science and engineering programs with specialties or emphasis in ceramics. ACerS/NICE holds a seat on the ABET Board of Directors and has a representative on the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC).



The American Ceramic Society’s National Institute of Ceramic Engineers (ACerS/NICE) appoints a liaison to the TMS Professional Engineering Exam Committee, which writes and administers the Professional Engineering examination in metallurgical and materials engineering. The exam is offered through NCEES, the organization responsible for professional licensure for engineers in the United States. Download a list of Professional Engineers. If you are a registered Professional Engineer and would like to be added to this list, contact ezimmerman@ceramics.org.


2015-16 ACerS/NICE Officers


Past President (’14-’15): Kathy Lu

Past President (’13-’14): Kristen Brosnan

Past President (’12-’13): Olivia Graeve

Past President (’11-’12): Geoff Brennecka

Past President (’10-’11): Alex Cozzi

Past President (’09-’10): Beth Judson

Past President (’08-’09): Kathleen Richardson

Past President (’07-’08): Edmund Moore
Past President (’06-’07): Fred Stover

President: Ricardo Castro
President Elect, Treasurer: Josef Matyas
Vice President: James Wollmershauser
Secretary: Kyle Brinkman
Administrator: Erica Zimmerman



NICE President’s Letter – 2011-12

Code of Ethics of Engineers


Order of the Engineer

2015 Invitation, Details and Application Form



2015 Order of the Engineer induction ceremony. Left to right: Ram Devanathan, inductee; Kathleen Richardson, ACerS President; Fred Stover, Link #180 Chair; Richard Robinson, inductee. Not pictured is inductee Sarah Straub.


2015 Order of the Engineer induction ceremony. Left to right: Kathleen Richardson, ACerS President; Fred Stover, Link #180 Chair; Richard Robinson, inductee.



NICE members are eligible for awards given out during the Annual Meeting. Learn more about The Friedberg Ceramic Engineering Tutorial and Lecture, Greaves-Walker Award and Schwartzwalder-PACE Award in the Awards section.


Engineering and Science Hall of Fame: Nominations Due April 30th

Would you like to nominate someone for enshrinement in The Engineering and Science Hall of Fame, an international non-profit organization honoring persons who have made outstanding contributions to our field. If so, please check out the attached letter and nomination form.




ABET – EAC Commissioner

Janet Callahan
Associate Dean and Professor
Boise State University
Materials Science and Engineering
Boise, ID 83725-2100

Phone: (208) 426-5983
Fax: (208) 426-4466

ABET Board Member
Dr. William M. Mullins
U.S. Navy
4040 Winecott Dr
Apex, NC 27502-9316
Phone: (703) 696-0487
Fax: (703) 696-0934


ABET – ETAC Commissioner
Harrie Stevens
10562 Pine Breeze Ln
Corning, NY 14830-9346

Phone: (607) 962-0799


Erica Zimmerman 

ACerS/NICE Liaison
The American Ceramic Society

Phone: (614) 794-5821
Fax: (614) 794-5881




Back to Classes





Back to Previous Page
« « Previous Post     |    Next Post » »

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑