Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

Symposium 28: Advanced Materials and Technologies for Electrochemical Energy Storage Systems



During the past two decades, research groups in academics and industries around the globe have developed numerous cathode and anode materials and electrolytes that can be used in electrochemical storage systems for storing more and more energy per unit mass or unit volume. As a result of these advances, lithium-ion battery technology has evolved beyond the consumer electronics industry and is now making serious progress in the transportation industry. However, challenges at the battery system level remain with regard to energy, power, cost, life, and safety. Also, the technology is slowly making landmark advances in other industries, including stationary storage systems for wind farms and solar plants. Improvements in materials design, electrodes architecture, and cell chemistry are required to extend the life, enhance the safety, and lower the cost of rechargeable lithium-ion batteries. A deeper understanding of the battery materials–property relationship, electrode–electrolyte interface phenomena, and cell failure mechanisms also is needed to face these challenges. The search for advanced high-capacity electrode materials and the implementation of the very challenging lithium–sulfur and lithium–air batteries will be necessary to overcome the energy density shortfall in current lithium-ion batteries. Abstracts are solicited on the fundamental and applied aspects of rechargeable lithium-ion batteries, lithium–sulfur, and lithium–air batteries, and beyond lithium technologies, including sodium batteries, magnesium batteries, and supercapacitors. We also invite abstracts on all-solid-state batteries and solid electrolytes. This symposium will allow for discussion among the many groups involved in the development and use on these technologies.



Palani Balaya, National University of Singapore, Singapore, mpepb@nus.edu.sg

Kisuk Kang, Seoul National University, Korea, matlgen1@snu.ac.kr

Mickael Dolle, Université de Montréal, Canada, mickael.dolle@umontreal.ca

Ilias Belharouak, Qatar Environment and Energy Research Institute, Qatar.

Shirley Meng, University of California, San Diego

Dany Carlier-Larregaray, ICMCB-CNRS, France

Naoaki Yabuuchi, Tokyo Denki University, Japan

Robert Dominko, National Institute of Chemistry, Slovenia

Neeraj Sharma, University of New South Wales, Australia




Back to Top ↑