Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

S8: 12th international symposium on advanced processing and manufacturing technologies for structural and multifunctional materials and systems (APMT12)

The properties and performance of structural and multifunctional materials largely depend on their processing and manufacturing routes. Manufacturing processes carefully designed with sufficient understanding of forming/sintering behaviors lead to reliable performance of components and products of large size and complex shapes. On the other hand, recently developed new processing and fabrication techniques of ceramic materials and systems give us unique properties which cannot be achieved from the conventional routes. The aim of this international symposium is to discuss global advances in the research and development of advanced processing and manufacturing technologies for a wide variety of fiber reinforced and particulate composites, nonoxide and oxide based structural ceramics, and multifunctional materials, as well as their components and devices. Current advances and state-of-the-art in various eco-friendly processing approaches will be also covered.


Proposed session topics

  • Novel forming/sintering technologies, near-net shaping
  • Rapid prototyping, patterning, templates, and self assembly
  • Advanced composite manufacturing technologies, hybrid processes
  • Microwave processing, SPS
  • Advanced powder synthesis and processing
  • Aqueous synthesis, colloidal processing
  • Polymer-based processing
  • Design-oriented manufacturing and processing
  • Joining, integration, machining, repair, and refurbishment technologies
  • Green manufacturing, global environmental issues and standards


Symposium organizers

  • Tatsuki Ohji, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and
    Technology (AIST), Japan; t-ohji@aist.go.jp
  • Mrityunjay Singh, Ohio Aerospace Institute, NASA Glenn Research
    Center, USA; mrityunjay.singh-1@nasa.gov
  • Zhengyi Fu, Wuhan University of Technology, China; zyfu@whut.edu.cn
  • Enrico Bernardo, University of Padova, Italy
  • Mirosław Buc´ko, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
  • Thomas Graule, Empa, Switzerland
  • Surojit Gupta, University of North Dakota, USA
  • Young-Wook Kim, University of Seoul, Korea
  • Jerzy Lis, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
  • Eugene Medvedovski, Endurance Technologies Inc., Canada
  • Lisa Rueschhoff, Purdue University, USA
  • Richard D. Sisson, Jr., Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
  • Tohru S. Suzuki, National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS), Japan
  • Satoshi Tanaka, Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan
  • Valerie Wiesner, NASA Glenn Research Center, USA

Back to Top ↑