

Electronics Division Leadership Meeting Sunday, October, 8 2017

Present:

Chair: Geoff Brennecka (Colorado School of Mines) Chair-Elect: Brady Gibbons (Oregon State University)

Vice-Chair: Rick Ubic (Boise State University)
Secretary: Jon Ihlefeld (University of Virginia)

Secretary-Elect: Alp Sehirlioglu (Case Western Reserve University)

Trustee: Steven Tidrow (Alfred University)

Members/Guests: B. Reeja Jayan (Carnegie Mellon University), Jacob Zorn (PCSA, Penn State), Lindsey Denis (PCSA, Penn State), Danny Drury (PCSA, Missouri S&T), Ryan Murphy (PCSA,

Georgia Tech), Kate Hockensen (PCSA, Iowa State)

ACerS Board Update:

Geoff Brennecka gave an update on ACerS Board activities:

- 1) The Foundation has adopted the PCSA and is working more with Keramos.
- 2) There is now a Humanitarian Committee with Greg Rohrer (CMU) as the chair. The goal of the Humanitarian Committee is to determine how to lead from a materials standpoint.
- 3) External Partnership Committees (including PCSA) are trying to determine how to better partner with MRS, IEEE, ECerS, etc.
- 4) ACerS now allows people to join 3 Divisions and each Division gets \$10 from the membership fee. No additional fees are imposed to get the 2nd and 3rd Division memberships.
- 5) The ACerS PhD prize is to be given for the best PhD in ceramics. The application deadline is 15 January 2018.
- 6) Geoff is rotating off of the ACerS board and this leaves EDiv without representation on the Board.

PCSA Update:

- 1) Lindsey Denis gave an update on PCSA activities and indicated that they are interested in humanitarian outreach. Students want to know what they can do to help. Geoff mentioned that there are National Academy of Engineering Grand Challenges Scholar Programs at several universities that can be looked to.
- 2) Jacob Ivy (CSM) is the new recruitment chair for PCSA.

Division Financial Update:

Geoff gave an update on the Division's Financial status. We have to spend \$1960 by December and it was suggested that this go to PCSA Division Delegates to support travel. For EDiv, these are Ryan Murphy and Danny Drury.



Committee Updates:

No reports

MS&T Update:

MS&T is changing in the future with the withdrawal of ASM from the meeting. ACerS will have an increased profile in future meetings and it is desired to bring back more of a flavor of the old Annual Meetings. To achieve this, it was suggested that EDiv should have an officer tied to MS&T. Currently we have 2 officers in charge of EMA (EAM) planning, but none directly tied to the Annual Meeting.

EAM Update:

Brady Gibbons gave an update on EAM.

- 1) Submissions were down compared to the 2017 EMA meeting. There were 306 abstracts, of which 257 were tied to EDiv symposia and 49 tied with BSD symposia.
- 2) The breakdown of invited vs contributed submissions was as follows:
 - a. 40% Invited
 - b. 50% Contributed
 - c. 10% Posters
 - d. EDiv had 37% invited and BSD 56%
- 3) One symposium that was significantly lower than in the past was the superconducting materials with 18 abstracts compared to 40 from the year prior.
- 4) A discussion ensued concerning the reason for decline in participation. It was believed that the name change was the primary driver for this.
- 5) A discussion about adding an additional layer of invited talks was had:
 - a. Plenary
 - b. Keynote
 - c. Invited
- 6) Plenary speakers will be Roger De Souza (BSD) and Judith Macmanus-Driscoll (EDiv).
- 7) The Failure Symposium will continue.
- 8) The student speaking competition will continue, but will not be a designated lunch session. All eligible students will be judged.
- 9) A discussion was had about what to do as a lunch activity. Ideas included:
 - a. Have a discussion with students about how to do research.
 - b. A discussion about materials sustainability.
- 10) Meeting sponsors were discussed:
 - a. 3M has committed funding
 - b. Radiant will be contacted
 - c. CINT could not commit this year and needs to be contacted very early on to budget.
 - d. Micron was contacted by Rick Ubic.
- 11) Comped registrations:
 - a. EDiv gets 1/symposium and BSD gets >1/symposium
- 12) PiezoMEMS will be Monday and Tuesday of EAM week at the same hotel.



ivo reports given

New Business:

Nominating Committee:

- 1. We need a quorum of 15 members to select the nominating committee. Students cannot vote per ACerS constitution.
- 2. Steve asked what happens if we don't have a quorum. A proxy vote was suggested.

What to do with the \$1960:

- 1. EAM Organizers get to decide how to use the funds
- 2. Steve suggested that it should be student focused
- 3. Alp suggested also including Young Professionals

ACerS President Visit:

Bill Lee (outgoing President) and Michael Anderson (incoming President) visited the meeting and gave an update.

CGIF

- 1. The Foundation is now set for 5 years of funding.
- 2. Operations costs are covered.
- 3. All incoming donations cover grants, not admin costs.

MS&T

1. MS&T will change in 2020 with the withdrawal of ASM.

ACerS Headquarters

2. A small move of ACerS headquarters will occur.

New President:

Mike Alexander wants to improve attendance at meetings.