

Electronics Division Business Meeting Monday, October, 9 2017

Present: Chair: Geoff Brennecka (Colorado School of Mines) Chair-Elect: Brady Gibbons (Oregon State University) Vice-Chair: Rick Ubic (Boise State University) Secretary: Jon Ihlefeld (University of Virginia) Secretary-Elect: Alp Sehirlioglu (Case Western Reserve University) Trustee: Steven Tidrow (Alfred University) Members/Guests: Jianhua Tong (Clemson), Matjay Spreitzer (Josef Stefan Institute), Clive Randall (Penn State), Danilo Suvorov (Josef Stefan Institute), Hanzheng Guo (Kemet), Erica Zimmerman (ACerS), Ed Gorzkowski (Naval Research Lab), Eric Patterson (Naval Research Lab), 3 more that didn't fill in the attendance sheet.

Introductions:

16 Members were confirmed to be in attendance, thus representing a quorum.

Geoff Brennecka introduced the incoming officers for 2017-2018:

Chair: Brady Gibbons (Oregon State University) Chair-Elect: Rick Ubic (Boise State University) Vice-Chair: Jon Ihlefeld (University of Virginia) Secretary: Alp Sehirlioglu (Case Western Reserve University) Secretary-Elect: Clair Xiong (Boise State University)

Updates from the Chair (Geoff Brennecka):

- The ACerS PhD prize is to be given for the best PhD in ceramics. The application deadline is 15 January 2018. The award is a \$1500 check and a plaque. It awards the best thesis from calendar year 2017.
- 2) EDiv used our supplemental funds for student travel and GGRN Memberships.
- 3) Geoff expressed a concern that we need more EDiv member participation at the national level of ACerS.

Division Awards Presentations:

Henry Award (Best Paper): Hanzheng Guo, Amanda Baker, Jing Guo, and Clive Randall from Penn State University: Cold sintering process for ZrO₂-based ceramics: significantly enhanced densification evolution in yttria-doped ZrO₂, *Journal of the American Ceramic Society*, 100 (2), 491-495.

Hoffmann Scholarship: Nicholas Trainor, Drexel University



Brady Gibbons gave an update on EAM.

- 1) Submissions were down compared to the 2017 EMA meeting (396 abstracts). There were 306 abstracts, of which 257 were tied to EDiv symposia and 49 tied with BSD symposia.
- 2) There are 13 EDiv Symposia
- 3) The Failure Symposium will continue.
- 4) The student speaking competition will continue, but will not be a designated lunch session. All eligible students will be judged.
- 5) A discussion was had about what to do as a lunch activity.
- 6) PiezoMEMS will be Monday and Tuesday of EAM week at the same hotel.

Nominating Committee:

- 1. The Nominating Committee comprises the Outgoing Chair (Geoff Brennecka) and two other Division Members.
- 2. Three Division Members volunteered:
 - a. Ed Gorzkowski (Naval Research Lab)
 - b. Eric Patterson (Naval Research Lab)
 - c. Matjaz Spreitzer (Josef Stefan Institute)
- 3. Each volunteer gave a brief introduction.
- 4. A vote was held and Matjaz Spreitzer and Eric Patterson were selected to join the Nominating Committee.

Officer Transition:

Steven Tidrow thanked Geoff for his service and gave him a certificate of appreciation.