

Electronics Division Business Meeting Monday, September 30, 2019

Present:

Chair: Rick Ubic (Boise State University)

Chair-Elect: Jon Ihlefeld (University of Virginia)

Vice-Chair: Alp Sehirlioglu (Case Western Reserve University)

Secretary: Claire Xiong (Boise State University)

Secretary-Elect: Jennifer Andrew (University of Florida)

Incoming Secretary-Elect: Edward Gorzkowski (U.S. Naval Research Lab)

Trustee: Steven Tidrow (Alfred University)

Members/Guests: Yi Yuan (Simon Fraser), Donghyun Lee, Connor Chadbourne (Missouri S&T), Heanjunne Ryou, Eric Patterson (U.S. Naval Research Lab), Geoff Brennecka (Colorado School of Mines), Ron Polcawich, Eric Newman, Abraham P. AfllaQ, Jose de los Samjos, Attemas Steere, Daniel Fuvorov, Michael Thuis, Guoyang Ye, Vojislav Mitic, Parthararathi Chakralouti, Owen Abe, Siesitzer Marjaz, Winnie Wong-Ng, Lawrence Cook, Ruyan Guo, Arman Bhalla, Xia Zhang, Evan Smith

Introductions:

27 Members were confirmed to be in attendance, thus representing a quorum.

Rick Ubic introduced the current officers at EDiv.

<u>Updates from the Chair (Rick Ubic)</u>:

- 1) Award: Winne Wong-Ng for distinguished life member, Yoon-Bong Hahn, Shujun Zhang, and Jingyang Wang were elevated to ACerS fellows.
- 2) Membership update
- 3) EDiv organized 4 symposia at MS&T last year
- 4) Webinar with MRS: Brady spearheaded this and now a new champion is needed for this collaboration. Susan Trolier-McKinstry agreed to lead this effort.
- 5) Summary of EMA2019
- 6) EDiv financial status update
- 7) Introduction of the PCSA students: Michael Thuis and Guoyang Ye. Michael described the mentorship program and asked people who are interested to email him. He also asked for volunteers to go to schools for STEM outreach activities.

Division Awards Presentations:

- Hoffmann Scholarship: Connor Chadbourne (Missouri S&T)
- Henry Award (Best Paper): Yanhao Dong and I-Wei Chen (Penn State) for "Electrical and hydrogen reduction enhances kinetics in doped zirconia and ceria: II. Mapping electrode polarization and vacancy condensation in YSZ", Journal of the American Ceramic Society 101 [3] 1058-1073 (2018).

Officer Transition:

Trustee Steve thanked and presented a plaque for appreciation to the Outgoing Chair, Rick, on behalf of EDiv. Steve also introduced the incoming Chair, Jon Ihlefeld.



Jon Ihlefeld introduced the incoming officers for 2019-2020:

Chair: Jon Ihlefeld (University of Virginia)

Chair-Elect: Alp Sehirlioglu (Case Western Reserve University)

Vice-Chair: Claire Xiong (Boise State University) Secretary: Jennifer Andrew (University of Florida)

Secretary-Elect: Edward Gorzkowski (U.S. Naval Research Lab)

Jon talked about the priorities and initiatives in EDiv 2019-2020 and briefly went through the current committees. People who are interested in serving on the committees are encourages to contact Jon directly. Jon also presented a few proposed activities: getting pictures or videos for the materials kits EDiv gave to PCSA; engaging industry members to attend Materials Advantage meetings (looking for inspiring speakers), etc. Geoff suggested to look for MA sections with strong electronics focus.

Nominating Committee:

Rick asked 2 members be selected of the nominating committee.

- 1. The Nominating Committee comprises the Outgoing Chair (Rick Ubic) and two other EDiv Members.
- 2. Two EDiv Members volunteered:
 - a. Geoff Brennecka (Colorado School of Mines)
 - b. Eric Newman (Sandia National Lab)
- 3. A vote was held and Geoff Brennecka and Eric Newman were selected to join the Nominating Committee.