THE AMERICAN CERAMIC SOCIETY 2020 SOCIETY AWARDEES

List of Awards to be presented at the ACerS Awards Banquet, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania October 5, 2020

AWARD	AWARDEE	AFFILIATION/PAPER TITLE/INNOVATION
Distinguished Life Members		
	Richard Brow	Missouri University of Science & Technology
	Alexandra Navrotsky	University of Arizona
	Mrityunjay Singh	Ohio Aerospace Institute
Fellows 2020		
	Scott Barnett	Northwestern University
	Kyle Brinkman	Clemson University
	George Calas	Université Pierre et Marie Curie
	Jincheng Du	University of North Texas
	Richard Feeser	Retired (Superior Technical Ceramics)
	Michael Halbig	NASA Glenn Research Center
	Liping Huang	Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
	Frances Hurwitz	NASA Glenn Research Center

	Marie Jackson	University of Utah
	Steven Jung	Mo-Sci Corporation
	Matthew Lambert	Allied Mineral Products, Inc.
	Jing-Feng Li	Tsinghua University
	Jerzy Lis	Agh-University of Science & Technology
	Jon-Paul Maria	The Pennsylvania State University
	Joshua Pelletier	Imerys Aluminates
	Mary Reidmeyer	Missouri University of Science & Technology
	Sudipta Seal	University of Central Florida
	Ghatu Subhash	University of Florida
	Jeffrey Swab	U.S. Army Research Laboratory
	Xiaoli Tan	Iowa State University
	Junichi Tatami	Yokohama National University
	Rick Ubic	Boise State University
	Yiquan Wu	Alfred University
Edward Orton Jr. Memorial Lecture		
	Mrityunjay Singh	Ohio Aerospace Institute

Ross Coffin Purdy Award	Fei Li, Dabin Lin, Zibin Chen, Zhenxiang Cheng, Jianli Wang, ChunChun Li, Zhuo Xu, Qianwei Huang, Xiaozhou Liao, Long-Qing Chen, Thomas R. Shrout, Shujun Zhang	"Ultrahigh piezoelectricity in ferroelectric ceramics by design", Nature Materials, 17 (2018) 349-354.
John Jeppson Award	Zhengyi Fu	Wuhan University of Technology
Karl Schwartzwalder-Professional Achievement in Ceramic Engineering Award	No Awardee Selected for 2020	
Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars	Valerie Wiesner	NASA Glenn Research Center
Frontiers of Science and Society – Rustum Roy Lecture	James Adair	The Pennsylvania State University
W. David Kingery Award	Subhash Risbud	University of California, Davis

Richard M. Fulrath Awards		
(5 awardees)		
	American Academic	
	Shashank Priya	The Pennsylvania State University
	American Industrial	
	Edward Gorzkowski	US Naval Research Laboratory
	Japanese Academic	
	Tomoaki Yamada	Nagoya University
	Japanese Industrials	
	supariese maastrais	
	Takeshi Kobayashi	National Institute of Advance Industrial Science and Technology (AIST)
	Hiroshi Sato	TDK Electronics GmbH & Co OG
Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award		
	Xi Lan, Jintao Gao, Yu Du,	Thermodynamics and crystallization kinetics of REEs in CaO–SiO2–
	Zhancheng Guo	Ce2O3 system; J Am Ceram Soc. 2019; 103: pgs 2845–2858
Corporate Environmental		
Achievement Award	Central Glass and Ceramics	Energy Savings and Air Pollution Reduction Technologies for
	Research Institute	Traditional Ceramics (Whiteware) Manufacturing Industries
		Corning [®] DuraTrap [®] GC filters, Corning Incorporated's new automotive
Corporate Technical Achievement	Corning, Inc.	exhaust filters, are designed to help automakers effectively reduce fine
Award		particulate emissions from gasoline engines while maximizing fuel
		economy.

Medal for Leadership in the Advancement of Ceramic Technology: Two medals	Americas:	
recimology. Two medals	Americas.	
	Scott Swartz	Nexceris
	Outside of the Americas:	
	Long Zhang	Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
Morgan Medal and Global Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award		Understanding Piezoelectric Nitrides by Combinatorial Methods
	Kevin Talley	Colorado School of Mines
Du-Co Ceramics Young Professionals Award		
	Valerie Wiesner	NASA Glenn Research Center
BSD: Sosman Lecture 2020	Wayne Kaplan	Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
EPDC: Greaves/Walker Award	Kathleen Richardson	University of Central Florida
EPDC: Arthur L. Friedberg Memorial Lecture	John R. Hellmann	The Pennsylvania State University
EPDC: Outstanding Educator Award	George D. Quinn	National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
EMSD: D. T. Rankin Award	Kevin M. Fox	Savannah River National Laboratory