THE AMERICAN CERAMIC SOCIETY 2023 AWARDEES

AWARD	AWARDEE	COMPANY AFFILIATION
Distinguished Life Membership		
	Edwin R. Fuller, Jr. Curtis	National Institute of Standards and Technology (ret.)
	A. Johnson	Stony Brook University/GE Research
Society Fellows		
	Jake Amoroso	Savannah River National Laboratory
	Katalin Balázsi	Center for Energy Research, Hungarian Academy
	Sung Choi	Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIR)
	Keith DeCarlo	Blasch Precision Ceramics
	Mari-Ann Einarsrud	Norwegian University of Science and Technology
	Manabu Fukushima	National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science, Japan
	R. Edwin Garcia	Purdue University
	Venkatraman Gopalan	The Pennsylvania State University
	Surojit Gupta	University of North Dakota
	Michael Hill	Skyworks Solutions
	Dachamir Hotza	Federal University of Santa Catarina, Brazil
	Stephen Houseman	Harrop Industries
	Bryan Huey	University of Connecticut
	Leena Hupa	Åbo Akademi University, Finland
	Jon Ihlefeld	University of Virginia
	Pierre Lucas	University of Arizona
	Rodrigo Moreno	Spanish National Research Council (CSIC), Spain
	Nathan Newman	Paramagnetix and Arizona State University
	lan Reaney	University of Sheffield, UK
	Claire Xiong	Boise State University

Edward Orton Jr. Memorial Lecture	Sergei Kalinin	Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Ross Coffin Purdy Award	"The structure of sodium silicate glass from neutron diffraction and modeling of oxygen- oxygen correlations" Alex C. Hannon Shuchi Vaishnav Oliver L. G. Alderman Paul A. Bingham	Published in Journal of the American Ceramic Society; 2021;104; 6155-6171
John Jeppson Award	Ruyan Guo	University of Texas, San Antonio
Karl Schwartzwalder- Professional Achievement in Ceramic Engineering Award	Scott Cooper	Celsian
Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars	Mattia Biesuz	University of Trento, Italy
Frontiers of Science and Society – Rustum Roy Lecture	Mrityunjay Singh	Ohio Aerospace Institute
W. David Kingery Award	Vincent Harris	Northeastern University
Richard M. Fulrath Awards	American Academic: Nicola Perry American Industrial: Amjad Almansour Japanese Academic: Yukio Sato Japanese Industrials: Fuminori Mizuno Sanshiro Aman	University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign NASA Glenn Research Center Kyushu University Toyota Motor Corporation TDK Corporation
Richard and Patricia Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award	"Phase equilibria of MgO–Al2O3–TiO2 system at 1600°C in air Emphasis on pseudobrookite and spinel"; Journal of the American Ceramic Society; 2022; 6953–6964.	1 Key Laboratory for Ecological Metallurgy of Multimetallic Mineral, Northeastern University, Shenyang, P. R. China 2 Northeastern University, Shenyang, P. R. China 3 Pangang Group Company Limited, Vanadium and Titanium Resources Comprehensive Utilization of State Ley Laboratory, Sichuan, P. R. China 4 Liupanshui Normal University,

	Yuchao Qiu1,2 Song Li4,5, Junjie Shi1,2 Yumo Zhai1,2, Bin Yu3 Jianzhong Li1,2, Changle Hou1,2, Jingjing Dong1, Changsheng Liu6	P.R. China 5 Guizhou Provincial Key Laboratory of Coal Clean Utilization, Guizhou, P. R. China 6 School of Material Science and Engineering, Northeastern University, Shenyang, Liaoning, P. R. China
Corporate Environmental Achievement Award	RHI Magnesita	For their efforts in reducing carbon emissions and investing in carbon capture and usage technologies
ECerS-ACerS Joint Award	Francis Cambier Presented in Lyon, France July 2023 at the XVIIIth Conference of the European Ceramic Society.	Belgian Ceramic Research Centre
Medal for Leadership in the Advancement of Ceramic Technology	Americas: Not awarded in 2023 – no nominations were submitted. Outside of the Americas: Jacques Rennotte	Belgian Ceramic Research Centre
Morgan Medal and Global Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award	Mao-Hua Zhang	Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany

Du-Co Ceramics Young Professionals Award	Lisa Rueschhoff	Air Force Research Laboratory
Rishi Raj Medal for Innovation and Commercialization	Raj Singh	Oklahoma State University
Samuel Geijsbeek PACRIM International Award	Jingyang Wang Christopher C. Berndt	Shenyang National Lab. for Materials Science, Institute of Metal Research, China Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Navrotsky Award for Experimental Thermodynamics of Solids	"Radiation Damage and Thermal Annealing in Tunnel Structured Hollandite Materials"; Acta Materialia, 206 (2021) 116598; Mingyang Zhao (a), Eric O´Quinn (b), Nancy Birkner (a), Yun Xu (a), Maik Lang (b), Kyle Brinkman (a)	(a) Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Clemson University (b) Department of Nuclear Engineering, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Varshneya Frontiers of Glass Lectures	Science Lecture: Manoj Choudhary	The Ohio State University
	Technology Lecture: Lisa C. Klein	Rutgers University
Basic Science Division: Sosman Lecture	Elizabeth Dickey	Carnegie Mellon University
Education & Professional Development Council: Greaves-Walker Lifetime Service Award	Kevin Fox	
Education & Professional Development Council: Arthur L. Friedberg Memorial Lecture	Kathy Lu	University of Alabama, Birmingham
Education & Professional Development Council: Outstanding Educator Award	Brian Gorman	Colorado School of Mines
Energy Materials and Systems Division: D.T. Rankin Award	Jake Amoroso	Savannah River National Laboratory