Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

Electronics Division: Edward C. Henry Award

Deadline for Nominations: May 15th annually

Nominations received after the nomination date will not be considered for the award.


The Edward C. Henry Award is given annually to an outstanding paper reporting original work in the Journal of the American Ceramic Society or the Bulletin during the previous calendar year on a subject related to electronic ceramics.


The winning paper is selected by the Committee on Awards and Scholarships and judged to reflect the best in originality of content, scientific and technical merit, and quality of the presentation.


We are currently seeking nominations for the best paper published in calendar year 2016 on a subject related to electronic ceramics. The author(s) of the Best Paper Award will be presented with a certificate and $500 at the 119th ACerS Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, October 8-12, 2017.


Nomination Process:

ACerS Members are invited to submit a nomination for this award. Self-nominations are not allowed.


A valid nomination for each paper should contain:

  • The name and member number of the nominator,
  • the title, author(s), and the publication details of the paper being nominated, and
  • up to one page description in support of the nomination. This support information should include a clear discussion on the originality, the scientific and technical merit, the significance of the subject on the field, and the quality of the presentation of the paper.

Nominators can also submit one letter of recommendation from an expert in the field addressing the above criteria. However, a recommendation letter is not necessary.


Only formally nominated papers will be considered for the award. Also, only electronic versions of the nomination will be accepted.


Papers authored or co-authored by a current member of the Awards and Scholarships Committee are excluded from award consideration.


Send electronic nominations to:

Alp Sehirlioglu

Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Case Western Reserve University


(216) – 368 – 1987



Nominations should also be sent to Erica Zimmerman


photo 1

Rick Ubic (L) presents the 2015 Henry award plaque to Adam Heitmann (C), with Chair Tim Haugan (R).

Download Nomination Form Here

Download Past Winners Here

Back to Top ↑