Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

ACerS Cements Division


Mission Statement


Our Mission: The Cements Division of The American Ceramic Society is involved with the research, development, manufacture, and sale of cements, limes, and plasters. Developments in Portland cement occupy much of the Division members’ efforts.



The Cements Division of The American Ceramic Society is involved with the research, development, manufacture, and sale of cements, limes, and plasters. Developments in Portland cement occupy much of the Division members’ efforts.

Credit: S. Cardigan; Flickr; CC BY 2.0


Watch the Cements Division video!  

The American Ceramic Society Cements Division is a diverse community of researchers from industry and academia that study the materials science of cements. Our aim is to advance the fundamental knowledge of and to develop new technologies for concrete—the most widely used man-made material on Earth.


This video, filmed at our July 2015 meeting at Kansas State University, attempts to capture the enthusiasm and energy of this group, giving various perspectives of what the Cements Division and ACerS bring to our field. 


If you share our interests or are curious to discover a new field, then please join us at our upcoming conference at Georgia Tech in Atlanta, Georgia, June 26-28, 2017. We hope to see you there!

Meeting Spotlight


Division Flyer 



Meeting Spotlight

June 26 – 28, 2017

8th Advances in Cements-Based Materials (Cements 2017) 

Georgia Tech  |  Atlanta, Ga. USA


Cements 2017 Schedule


Hampton Inn Cements Meeting Reservations


Hampton Inn Transportation


Atlanta Cements Meeting Map


Cements Meeting Nearby Hotels


Cements Meeting Transportation

YouTube Contest Information


Click here to view all upcoming ACerS meetings

Division Leadership


Chair: Aleksandra Radlińska | Penn State University | Ph: (814) 865-9427

Chair-elect: Matthew D’Ambrosia | CTLGroup | Ph: (847) 972-3264

Secretary: David Corr | Northwestern University

Trustee: Maria Juenger | University of Texas-Austin | Ph: (512) 471-1630


Division Rules and Reports


Cements Division Rules

Cements Annual Report 2012-2013

Cements Annual Report 2013-2014

Cements Annual Report 2014-2015

Cements Annual Report 2015-2016




Brunauer Best Paper Award

This award is presented for the best scientific paper on the topic of cement and concrete published by ACerS during the previous year.


2015 Winning Paper: “An Application of Computer-Aided Molecular Design (CAMD) Using the Signature Molecular Descriptor”


Part 1. “Identification of Surface Tension Reducing Agents and the Search for Shrinkage Reducing Admixtures”

Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 97 (2) 365-377 (2014)

by Hamed M. Kayello; Naresh K. R. Tadisina; Natalia Shlonimskaya; Joseph J. Biernacki; Donald P. Visco Jr.


Part 2. “Evaluating Newly Identified Suface Tension-Reducing Substances for Potential Use as Shrinkage-Reducing Admixtures”

Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 97 (2) 378-385 (2014)

by Natalia Shlonimskaya; Joseph J. Biernacki; Hamed M. Kayello; Donald P. Visco Jr.


2013 Winning Paper: “The Instantaneous Apparent Activation Energy of Cement Hydration Measured Using a Novel Calorimetry-Based Method”

Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 95 (10) 3291-3296 (2012)


2011 Winning Paper: “New Insights into the Effect of Calcium Hydroxide Precipitation on the Kinetics of Tricalcium Silicate Hydration”

Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 93 (7) 1894-1903 (2010)

by Jeffrey W. Bullard and Robert J. Flatt


2010 Winning Paper: “First-Principles Study of Elastic Constants and Interlayer Interactions of Complex Hydrated Oxides: Case Study of Tobermorite and Jennite” 
Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 92 (10) 2323-2330(2009)
by Rouzbeh Shahsavari, Markus J. Buehler, Roland J.-M. Pellenq, and Franz-Josef Ulm


L.E. Copeland Award
This award recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions to the development and understanding of cement and concrete science. Presentation of this award is considered whenever the Copeland Award Committee feels that there is a suitable candidate. 


Della Roy Lecture and Award

The Della Roy lecturer is selected each year by the division executive committee. The recipient does not need to be a member of the Cements Division or the Society at large.


2016 Della Roy Lecturer:

Joe Biernacki, Tennessee Technological University

Lecture title: “What do artificial intelligence, synthetic life-chemistry and nuclear fusion have to do with cement? (a vision for things to come)”


2015 Della Roy Lecturer:

Hamlin Jennings, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Jennings died the week before he was to give the Della Roy Lecture. His colleagues put together this video tribute recognizing the many contribution of Hamlin Jennings and showed it at the Cements meeting     held at Kansas State University in July 2015.  


2014 Della Roy Lecturer:

Ellis Gartner, scientific director (chemistry), Lafarge Central Research, France

Lecture title: 40 Years a Cement Scientist – Can this be Sustainable?


2013 Della Roy Lecturer:

Leslie J. Struble, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Lecture title: Calcium in Geopolymers

Watch the video of Dr. Struble presenting the lecture “Effects of Calcium on the Geopolymer Reaction”


2012 Della Roy Lecturer: 

Edward Garboczi, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Lecture title: The Computational Materials Science of Concrete: Past – Present – Future


2011 Della Roy Lecturer:

Karen Scivener, Professor and Head of the Laboratory of Construction Materials at Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland). 

Lecture title: Modelling Hydration Kinetics of Cementitious Systems


        2014 Student Poster Winners

Ojas Chaudhari, Tennessee Technological University

William Hunnicutt, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Alvaro Paul, Georgia Institute of Technology

Mohammad Rashidi, Georgia Institute of Technology

Peter Stynoski, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and US Army Construction Engineering Research Laboratory

Raikhan Tokpatayeva, Purdue University

Christopher Galitz, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University


Job Opportunities


ACerS Career Center


Back to Top ↑