Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

T1S5: Functional Nanomaterials for Sustainable Energy Technologies

Register for 11th CMCEE


Ceramic technologies for sustainable development


This symposium will focus on the functional and multifunctional inorganic materials and techniques that offer advanced processing, improved properties, and low-cost/low-temperature synthesis, with a strong focus on the recent innovation in nanotechnological approaches and the assessment of their industrial impact. Special emphasis will be given to novel synthesis approaches, functionalization, processing, and characterization of nanoparticles, nanowires, nanoscopic films, and their heterostructures. Application of nanostructures in catalysis, energy and sensing applications, nanocomposites in structural lightweight materials, nanostructured coatings for photovoltaic, biomedical, and optical applications will form the major scientific thrust. It will provide a forum for the technological advances and latest research on the state-of-the-art in innovative processing and device applications of new materials to meet the challenges of sustainable energy and environment technologies. 


Proposed session topics:

  • Processing of functional nanomaterials: Electrospinning, plasma-assisted chemical vapor deposition, atomic layer deposition and microwave enhanced synthesis, sol-gel, and chemical solution techniques
  • Synthesis, functionalization, and assembly of nanomaterials
  • Fabrication of interface-driven functionalities and multimaterial heterostructures and nanocomposites
  • Functional metal oxide nano- and heterostructures for energy harvesting
  • Perovskite-based photovoltaic cells
  • Nanostructured oxide and nanocomposites for excitonic solar cells
  • Piezoelectric nanostructures for self-powered systems
  • Nanodevices: Fabrication and large-scale integration
  • Nanomaterials for renewable fuels, energy generation, energy storage devices, supercapacitors, photocatalysis, and solar hydrogen production
  • Nanotechnology for chemical sensors 


  • Sanjay Mathur, University of Cologne, Germany
  • Dunwei Wang, Boston College, USA
  • Silke Christiansen, Max-Planck-Institut for the Science of Light, Germany
  • Ausrine Bartasyte, Université Franche-Comté, France
  • Xavier Obrados, ICAMB, Spain
  • Anke Weidenkaff, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Yoshitake Masuda, AIST, Japan
  • Taejin Huang, KITECH, Korea


Back to Symposia

Back to Top ↑