Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

S7: 7th International Symposium on Nanostructured Materials and Nanocomposites



This symposium will focus on science and engineering of nanostructured materials, with a strong focus on recent innovation in nano-technological approaches and their impact on the current challenges of energy and sustainability. In particular, special emphasis will be given to novel synthesis
approaches, functionalization, processing, and characterization of nanoparticles, nanowires and their heterogeneous structures. Application of nanostructures in drug-delivery, catalysis, energy and sensing applications, nanocomposites in structural light-weight materials, nanostructured coatings for photovoltaic, biomedical and optical applications will form the major thrust areas. Contributions
related to fabrication of nanomaterials-based products and challenges related to the large-scale production and integration of functional and structural nanomaterials will be given particular attention.


Proposed Symposium Topics

  • Industrial development and application of nanomaterials
  • Nanostructured membranes, thin films, functional coatings
  • Synthesis, functionalization, processing and self-assembly of nanoparticles
  • Nanotubes, nanorods, nanowires and other one-dimensional structures
  • Bio-active nanomaterials and nanostructured materials for biomedical applications
  • Nanotoxicity and health aspects of engineered nanostructures
  • Polymer nanocomposite technology and nanoporous materials
  • Nanomaterials for photocatalysis, solar hydrogen and thermoelectrics
  • Nanodevices: fabrication and large-scale integration
  • Characterization and manipulation techniques for nanostructures


Symposium Organizers

  • Sanjay Mathur, University of Cologne, Germany; +49 (221) 470-4107
  • Suprakas Sinha Ray, DST/CSIR- National Centre for Nanomaterials,
    South Africa
  • Marlies van Bael, Hasselt University, Belgium
  • Yoon-Bong Hahn, Chonbuk National University, Korea
  • Aivaras Kareiva, Vilnius University, Lithuania
  • Kerstin Schierle-Arndt, BASF, Germany
  • Janet B. Hurst, NASA Glenn Research Center, USA
  • Greta Patzke, University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • Wilhelm Schwieger, Erlangen University, Germany
  • Davide Barreca, University of Padua, Italy


Back to Symposia


Back to Top ↑