Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

Electronic Materials and Applications 2012


EMA 2012

Download Final Program



Meeting Description

Electronic Materials and Applications 2012 focuses on electronic materials for energy generation, conversion and storage applications. Download the Final Program to sessions by day then access the Itinerary Planner to schedule your conference activities. Don’t miss this year’s plenary speakers: Tony Gozdz, Principal Scientist, A123 Systems; Harriet Kung, Associate Director of Science for Basic Energy Sciences (BES), DOE; and John T. Prater, Materials Science Division, U.S. Army Research Office. Jointly programmed by the Electronics Division and Basic Science Division, EMA 2012 takes place at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando at Sea World® January 18-20, 2012. Online registration is now closed. To attend EMA 2012, register onsite.


Who Should Attend  

EMA 2012 is designed for materials scientists, engineers, students, researchers and manufacturers with an interest in renewable energy, innovative hybrid and all-electric transportation development, electrical ceramics and advanced microelectronics. The programming includes a mix of industrial, university and federal laboratory participants.



The technical program will include invited lectures, contributed papers, poster presentations, round tables on emerging topics, and an ACerS PCSA-run symposium featuring student research. With increased investment in renewable energy, “smart grid” technologies, all-electric vehicles and innovative hybrid transportation development, electrical ceramics are positioned as the key enabler of technologies. There is continued interest in energy harvesting, integrated sensors, bio-inspired vehicles &systems, and advanced functional microelectronics where integrated electrical ceramics & composites will play a key role. EMA 2012 aims to provide the current state-of-the-art in applications of these materials, the fundamental science of materials processing, and advanced methods for materials integration. Download the Call for Papers.




Online registration is now closed. To attend EMA 2012, register onsite.


On or Before

December 19, 2011


December 19, 2011

Member $515 $665
Nonmember $635 $785
ACerS Senior/Emeritus Member $395 $545
One-Day Member $395 $545

One-Day Nonmember

$515 $665
Material Advantage Student Member $130 $205
Student: Nonmember $165 $240
Companion* $60 $60

Note: Registration includes coffee breaks, Welcome Reception and Conference Dinner.

*Companion Registration includes the Welcome Reception and Conference Dinner. Add this option when you register yourself.


Meeting Organization  

Organizing Committee

Amit Goyal
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Edward M. Sabolsky
West Virginia University
Steven C. Tidrow
 The University of Texas – Pan American


Technical Programming Committee

Paul Clem, Sandia National Labs; Amit Goyal, Oak Ridge National Lab; Edward M. Sabolsky, West Virginia University; Jacob Jones, Univ. of Florida; Jian Luo, Clemson Univ.; Wolfgang M. Sigmund, Univ. of Florida; Clive Randall, Pennsylvania State Univ.; Susan Troiler-Mckinstry, Pennsylvania State Univ.; Juan Nino, Univ. of Florida; Qi Tan, General Electric; Victoria Knox, PCSA; Nian Sun, Northeastern Univ.; Steven Tidrow, Univ. of Texas Pan American; Kristen Brosnan, General Electric; Alp Sehirlioglu, NASA-Glenn; Jeff Zhand, APC International; Thomas Daue, Smart Material Inc.; Michelle Bell, Radiant Technologies; Ahmad Safari, Rutgers Univ.; and Takaaki Tsurumi, Tokyo Institute of Technology


International Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC)
Jurgen Roedel, Darmstadt University of Technology; Michael Glazer, Clarendon Laboratory; Haosu Luo, Shanghai Institute of Ceramics, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Sahn Nahm, Korea University; Jungho Ryu, Functional Ceramics Group, Korea Institute of Materials Science (KIMS)


Basic Science Division Officers

Chair: Scott Misture
Chair-Elect: Kevin Trumble
Vice Chair: Jian Luo
Secretary: Wayne Kaplan

Past Chair: Helen M. Chan

2013 Programming Chairs:
  Brian Huey, Adam Scotch

Electronics Division Officers

Trustee: Dwight Viehland
Chair: Amit Goyal
Chair-Elect: Quanxi Jia
Vice-chair: Steven C. Tidrow
Secretary: Tim J. Haugan
Secretary-Elect: Haiyan Wang

Past Chair: Shashank Priya

2013 Programming Chairs:
  Quanxi Jia, Haiyan Wang



EMA 2012 Meeting Links:
EMA 2012 Home

Final Program


Advance Program

Plenary Speakers


Hotel & Travel


Back to Top ↑