Welcome, please login:
[Login]   |  [Join]  |  [Renew]   |   [Contact Us]

Electronic Materials and Applications 2015

Register now for EMA 2015


Invited speakers | Conference program

Meeting Description  

Electronic Materials and Applications 2015 addresses emerging needs, opportunities and key challenges in the field of electronic materials and applications. Technical presentations highlight advancements in materials and devices for electronics, sensors, energy generation and storage, photovoltaics, and LEDs. The January 21–23 event features 11 comprehensive symposia and plenary talks from Kent Budd, 3M; Greg Rohrer, Carnegie Mellon University; and Hiroshi Funakubo, Tokyo Institute of Technology. Plan to attend the special Tutorial on thin-films Wednesday, January 21, 7:45 p.m. – 9:45 p.m., and the always-popular session Failure: The greatest teacher Friday, January 23, 5:45 p.m. – 6:45 p.m. 

EMA 2015 qr codeBrowse the technical program then build your schedule with Itinerary Planner. Scan the QR code (or click here) to download the app and gain access to your schedule, the program, and local restaurants. Bookmark the site or add a link to your home screen. Sync the app with your schedule (just enter the unique name) and your Google calendar. (Recommended for iPhone 3GS/iPad iOS 4.0 or later; Android 2.2 or later with default browser; or Blackberry OS 7.0 with default browser.)


Who Should Attend  

DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando at Sea World®EMA 2015 is designed for scientists, engineers, students, researchers and manufacturers with an interest in materials for electronics, energy and sensor applications. The programming includes a mix of industrial, university and federal lab participants, discussing theoretical, experimental, applied, and unifying approaches.


EMA 2015, jointly programmed by ACerS’ Electronics and Basic Science divisions, is The American Ceramic Society’s sixth annual meeting on academic and industry solutions for electronic materials. Make your plans to attend EMA 2015 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando at Sea World®.



The technical program includes plenary talks, invited lectures, contributed papers and poster presentations, and open discussions, as well as networking opportunities to facilitate future collaborations, scientific, and technical advances. Symposia emphasize ferroelectrics, piezoelectrics, and dielectrics; thermoelectrics; superconductors; photovoltaics and LED’s; energy generation and storage systems; human energy generation and use; NEMS/MEMS; graded materials; and data storage applications. Other themes include thin film and bulk materials processing; device fabrication; green processing and sustainable materials; novel characterization methods; nanoscale electronics and mechanics; and interfacial effects and engineering.


A separate student-run symposium also features graduate and undergraduate student research, sponsored by ACerS President’s Council of Student Advisors, providing development and networking opportunities for the next generation of scientists. EMA 2015 will provide opportunities to learn, present and collaborate on academic and industry leading challenges in electronic materials, ranging from fundamental science, through development, to commercial applications.



Select your membership type below to register online. Nonmembers will be prompted to create a New Visitor Registration. Download the registration form to sign up by phone, fax or mail. If you wish to pay by wire transfer, contact customer service at 1-240-646-7054.


On or Before

Dec. 23, 2014


Dec. 23, 2014

Member $555 $705
Member with membership renewal $685 $835
Nonmember $685 $835
ACerS Senior/Emeritus/Associate Member $445 $595
One-Day Member $445 $595

One-Day Nonmember

$575 $725
Material Advantage Student Member (Grad or Undergrad) $150 $225
Nonmember Grad or Undergrad Student $200 $275
Spouse/Companion $75 $75

EMA 2015 registrations, except Guest, include coffee breaks, welcome reception and conference dinner. Guest registration includes only the welcome reception and conference dinner.


Meeting Organizers  

Tim Haugan

Shen Dillon

Geoff Brennecka

Tim Haugan (ED)

US Air Force Research Lab

Shen Dillon (BSD)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Geoff Brennecka (ED)

Colorado School of Mines


Division Leadership  

Electronics Division

Timothy J. Haugan, Chair
Haiyan Wang, Chair-elect
Geoff Brennecka, Vice chair
Brady Gibbons, Secretary
Rick Ubic, Secretary-elect

Basic Science Division

Bryan Huey, Chair
Shen Dillon, Chair-elect
Xingbo Liu, Vice chair
Dunbar Birnie, Secretary





The American Ceramic Society values diverse and inclusive participation within the field of ceramic science and engineering. ACerS strives to promote involvement and access to leadership opportunity regardless of race, ethnicity, gender, religion, age, sexual orientation, nationality, disability, appearance, geographic location, career path or academic level.

Back to Top ↑