Welcome, please login:
  |  [Join]  |     |   [Contact Us]

March 6th, 2009

St. Louis Section

Published on March 6th, 2009 | Edited by: Peter Wray
The St. Louis Section of The American Ceramic Society was founded in 1965.
Dilip Jain
Kyanite Mining Company
P: (434) 983-2085
Patty Smith
Missouri University of Science & Technology
P: (573) 341-6265
Vice Chair
Roger Smith
Emhart Glass
P: (573) 437-2132
Kent Weisenstein
P: (636) 479-7770
Bill Davis
Alsey Refractories Company
P: (217) 742-55012132
Dues of $5 per year can be paid on your annual ACerS membership renewal form.  Make sure to include your complete mailing address and Tel/Fax numbers and email address.
Meetings & Events



St. Louis Section/RCD 50th Annual Symposium: March 26-27, 2014

The St. Louis Section and the Refractory Ceramics Division of The American Ceramic Society will sponsor the 50th Annual Symposium on the theme “Refractory Bonding Systems” March 26-27, 2014, and a reception hosted by ASTM C08 will be held from 5:00-6:00p.m. the evening of March 25, 2014. The meeting will be held in St. Louis, Missouri, at the Hilton St. Louis Airport Hotel. Co-program chairs are Bill Headrick of Missouri Refractories Co. and Josh Pelletier of Kerneos, Inc. 


View the complete meeting program here.  Registration Form is at the end of the program. Register by March 21st to get the lower rate.   

View the Symposium Abstracts here.


The 2014 Theodore J. Planje Refractories Award will be presented to Jeffrey D. Smith, Materials Science and Engineering Dept., Missouri University of Science and Technology on March 26th at 1:00pm.


A special Celebratory Dinner Banquet will be held on the evening of March 26th for the 50th Anniversary of the St. Louis Section Refractories Symposium and the 100th Anniversary of ASTM C08 on Refractories hosted by the St. Louis Section, Refractories Ceramic Division and ASTM C08.


The Tabletop Expo format is the same as previous years, with each vendor having a 6-foot table to display products and literature. The charge is $300, which will be used to cover the cost of the Expo Hall and provide an open two hour bar during the “Meet and Greet” for the attendees prior to dinner on Wednesday evening. If you are interested in participating in the Tabletop Expo, contact Patty Smith at (573) 341-6265 or psmith@mst.edu.


A partial list of Exhibitors for the Table Top Expo:
American Ceramic Society
BassTech International
Calucem, Inc.
Christy Minerals
Cilas Particle Size
DIFK GmbH, Germany

Du-Co Ceramics Company
Great Lakes Minerals
IMERYS Refractory Minerals
Koda Construction Solutions
Kyanite Mining
Lancaster Products
MFC Resources, Inc.
Missouri S&T
Orton Ceramic Foundation

Possehl Erzkontor N.A.

PQ Corporation

RED Industrial Products
Refractory Minerals

TAM Ceramics
Velco GmbH

Washington Mills 


Please note that a meeting of the ASTM International C-8 Committee on Refractories will be held on March 25th, before this joint St. Louis Section/RCD conference. Contact Kate McClung at (610) 832-9717 for more information on this meeting.


The pre-registration fee of $225.00 or on-site registration fee of $275.00 ($125.00 for Emeritus/Seniors and $50.00 for students) includes the cost of your bound copy of the Symposium Technical Papers, Continental Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Coffee Breaks. 


Register now!  Registration deadline is March 21, 2014 to get the lower rate.  


A block of rooms has been set aside for the evenings of March 24-28, 2014 at the Hilton (314) 426-5500. The rate is $104.00 for a single or double. To receive the $104 rate mention the Group Name: St. Louis Section of The American Ceramic Society or Group Code: MUS when making your reservation. The web address to make online reservations is:


All hotel reservations must be received on or before March 2, 2014.


For further information please contact Patty Smith at tel: (573) 341-6265, Fax: (573) 341-2071 or email: psmith@mst.edu.


All ACerS Meetings

The member companies of The Refractories Institute (TRI) have established an academic scholarship program for the 2014-2015 academic year. The scholarships will support qualified students enrolled in degree programs who have exhibited an interest in refractory manufacturing through course work or other activities, and who might be considering a career in the refractory industry. Additional details can be found on the TRI website.

The Theodore J. Planje – St. Louis Refractories Award

The 2014 Theodore J. Planje Refractories Award will be presented to Jeffrey D. Smith, Materials Science and Engineering Dept., Missouri University of Science and Technology on March 26th at 1:00pm. 


2014 Winner: Jeffrey D. Smith, Missouri University of Science and Technology

2013 Winner: J.P. Willi, Sunset Refractory Services, LLC
2012 Winner:  Rick Volk, UNI-REF, Inc.
2011 Winner: Rob Crolius – The Refractories Institute
2010 Winner: James L. Hill, Retired – ANH Refractories
2009 Winner: James W. Stendera, Vesuvius USA
Nomination deadline for 2014 Award: December 1, 2013
In December 1967, the St. Louis Section of The American Ceramic Society announced the establishment of as “The St. Louis Refractories Award.” This has been provided in Article XII of the by-laws of the St. Louis Section “for the purpose of recognizing and honoring distinguished achievement in the refractories field.”
In March 1982, the St. Louis Section voted to amend Article XII of the by-laws. The award was renamed “The Theodore J. Planje — St. Louis Refractories Award” in honor of his many contributions.
Nominations received after December 1, 2013 shall be held for the following year. To request a nomination form please contact Patty Smith at P: (573) 341-6265, F: (573) 341-6151.
Job Opportunities

Back to Previous Page
« « Previous Post     |    Next Post » »


Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑