Dr. John C. Mauro is Senior Research Manager—Glass Research at Corning Incorporated.

John earned a B.S. in Glass Engineering Science (2001), B.A. in Computer Science (2001), and Ph.D. in Glass Science (2006), all from Alfred University.  He joined Corning Incorporated in 1999 and is currently a world-recognized expert in fundamental and applied glass science, statistical mechanics, computational and condensed matter physics, thermodynamics, and the physics of topologically disordered networks.

John is the inventor or co-inventor of several new glass compositions for Corning, including Corning Gorilla® Glass products.  John is a pioneer in the use of physics-based modeling for the design of new glassy materials.  He is the inventor of new models for supercooled liquid and glass viscosity, glass structure and topology, relaxation behavior, and thermal and mechanical properties.

John was awarded the N.J. Kreidl Award (2006) from The American Ceramic Society Glass and Optical Materials Division.  In 2010, the Pennsylvania State University and the International Commission on Glass (ICG) awarded John the W.A. Weyl International Glass Science Award.  In 2011, John received the V. Gottardi Prize from the ICG, and in 2012 he was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Sir Alastair Pilkington Award from the Society of Glass Technology.  In 2013, John was awarded the S. Donald Stookey Award for Exploratory Research from Corning Incorporated.  In 2015, John became a Fellow of The American Ceramic Society and was recipient of the R.M. Fulrath Award.  He was also awarded the W.H. Zachariasen Award from the Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids.

John is the author of over 150 peer-reviewed publications and has given over 150 presentations at international conferences and seminars.  John is Specialty Chief Editor of the Glass Science section in Frontiers in Materials.  He is also an Associate Editor of the Journal of the American Ceramic Society and the International Journal of Applied Glass Science and serves as an Editorial Board member for the Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids.