Nominations for Society awards that will be presented at the annual awards banquet in October 2021 are now open. Additional information on each award, plus many Division and Class awards, is available at Nomination deadline for all awards has been extended to January 29, 2021 unless otherwise noted. Contact Erica Zimmerman at or 614-794-5821 if you have questions.

Lifetime achievement or service awards:
Distinguished Life Membership: ACerS highest honor given in recognition of a member’s contribution to the ceramics profession. Nominees need to be current members who have attained professional eminence because of their achievements in the ceramic arts or sciences, service to the Society, or productive scholarship.

David Kingery Award: recognizes distinguished lifelong achievements involving multidisciplinary and global contributions to ceramic technology, science, education and art.

John Jeppson Award: recognizes distinguished scientific, technical, or engineering achievements in ceramics.

Greaves-Walker Lifetime Service Award: presented to an individual who has rendered outstanding service to the ceramic engineering profession and who has exemplified the aims, ideals and purpose of EPDC.

Rishi Raj Medal for Innovation and Commercialization: recognizes one individual whose innovation lies at the cusp of commercialization in a field related, at least in part, to ceramics and glass.

Corporate awards:
Medal for Leadership in the Advancement of Ceramic Technology: recognizes individuals, who through leadership and vision in an executive role, have made significant contributions to the success of their organization and in turn have significantly expanded the frontiers of the ceramics industry.

Corporate Environmental Achievement Award: recognizes an outstanding environmental achievement made by an ACerS corporate member in the field of ceramics.

Corporate Technical Achievement Award: recognizes an outstanding technical achievement made by an ACerS corporate member in the field of ceramics.

See also Fulrath industrial awards below.

Young professional awards:
Richard M. Fulrath Awards: promote technical and personal friendships between Japanese and American ceramic engineers and scientists. The awards recognize individuals for excellence in research and development of ceramic sciences and materials. Nominees must be 45 or younger at the time of award presentation.

Karl Schwartzwalder-Professional Achievement in Ceramic Engineering Award: recognizes an outstanding young ceramic engineer whose achievements have been significant to the profession. A nominee must be between 21 and 40 years of age, and must be a member of EPDC and ACerS.

Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars: recognizes an outstanding scientist who is conducting research in academia, in industry or at a government laboratory. Candidates must be an ACerS member and must be 35 years old or younger.

Du-Co Ceramics Young Professional Award: awarded to a young professional member of ACerS who demonstrates exceptional leadership and service to ACerS.

Global Distinguished Doctoral Dissertation Award: recognizes a distinguished doctoral dissertation in the ceramics and glass discipline. Candidates must have been a member of the Global Graduate Researcher Network (GGRN) and have completed a doctoral dissertation as well as all other graduation requirements set by their institution for a doctoral degree within 12 months prior to the application deadline.

Lecture awards:
Frontiers of Science and Society – Rustum Roy Lecture: given each year by a nationally or  internationally recognized individual in the area of science, industry or government. Generally the committee selects the lecturer, but suggestions from membership are invited.

Edward Orton, Jr. Memorial Lecturer: selection is based on scholarly attainments in ceramics or a related field. Generally the committee selects the lecturer, but suggestions from membership are invited.

Arthur L. Friedberg Ceramic Engineering Tutorial and Lecture: given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to ceramic engineering that relate to the processing or manufacturing of ceramic products. The awardee must be a member of EPDC and ACerS.

Robert B. Sosman Award: awarded by the Basic Science Division in recognition of outstanding achievement in basic science that results in a significant impact to the field of ceramics.

Best paper awards:

John E. Marquis Memorial Award: given to the author(s) of the paper on research, engineering or plant practices relating to manufacturing in ceramics and glass published in the prior calendar year in a publication of the SOCIETY, which is judged to be of greatest value to the members and to the industry.

Ross Coffin Purdy Award
: given to the author(s) who made the most valuable contribution to ceramic technical literature during the calendar year two years prior to the year of selection. The 2021 Purdy award is for the best paper published in 2019.

Richard and Patricia Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award: given to the author(s) who made the most valuable contribution to phase stability relationships in ceramic-based systems literature during the previous calendar year (2020).

Navrotsky Award for Experimental Thermodynamics of Solids: awarded biennially to an author who made the most innovative contribution to experimental thermodynamics of solids technical literature during the two calendar years prior to selection. (For articles published in 2019 or 2020.)

Educator award:
Education and Professional Development Council Outstanding Educator Award recognizes outstanding work and creativity in teaching, in directing student research, or in the general educational process (lectures, publications, etc.) of ceramic educators.