The W.A. Weyl International Glass Science Award was established in 1976 by Pennsylvania State University in collaboration with the ICG in memory of Prof. W.A. Weyl. It is awarded once every three years to an outstanding young scientist working in glass research. 

Congratulations to this year’s awardee, N. M. Anoop Krishnan, Ph.D., Associate Professor; Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India.

Professor Krishnan will present a paper at the 26th International Congress on Glass in Berlin, Germany, from July 3–8, 2022. He will be presented with a certificate and a suitable memento during the Congress.


             1977                       Peter Schultz                                         Corning, USA

             1980                       Denis Ravaine                                  University of Grenoble, France

             1983                       Bruno Smets                                         Phillips, The Netherlands

             1986                       George Scherer                                     Dupont, USA

             1989                       Terry Michalske                                   Sandia, USA

             1992                       Yuichi Watanabe                             Nagayoka Univ. of Tech, Japan

             1995                       Edward Pope                                        Matech, USA

             1998                       Sabyasachi Sen                               University of Wales, UK

             2001                       Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem           Otto Schott Inst., Germany

             2004                       Matthew J. Dejneka                            Corning, USA

             2007                       Akitoshi Hayashi                                 Osaka University, Japan

             2010                       John Mauro                                          Corning, USA

             2013                       Lothar Wondraczek                            University of Jena, Germany

             2016                       Qiang Fu                                            Corning, USA
             2019                      Thomas D. Bennett                            University of Cambridge, UK