ACerS Basic Science Division announces 2017 GEMS Award Finalists | The American Ceramic Society

ACerS Basic Science Division announces 2017 GEMS Award Finalists

ACerS Basic Science Division recently announced the winners of its 2017 Graduate Excellence in Materials Science (GEMS) awards. The division sponsors the GEMS award as part of the annual MS&T conference and ACerS Annual Meeting events each year. Congratulations to the 2017 GEMS Award Finalists!

Diamond ranking:

  • Grace X. Gu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Rapid Composite Material Property Prediction Using Machine Learning
  • Natalie Larson, University of California, Santa Barbara, In-situ XCT of crack evolution during pyrolysis of PIP-derived CMCs
  • Hadas Sternlicht, Technion, The Role of Disconnections at General Grain Boundaries in Grain Boundary Motion

Sapphire ranking:

  • Arezoo Emdadi, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Quantitative Phase-Field Modeling of Crack Propagation in Multiphase Materials
  • Anagh Bhaumik, North Carolina State University, Characterizing Nitrogen-vacancy (NV) Centers in Diamond Nanostructure Formed by Pulsed Laser Annealing Technique at Room Temperature and Ambient Pressure
  • Ajay S. Pisat, Carnegie Mellon University, Domain Specific Photoreduction of Ag+ on the Surface of Ferroelastic gamma-WO3
  • Chuancheng Duan, Colorado School of Mines, High Performance, Fuel-flexible Protonic Ceramic Fuel Cells via In-situ Exsolution of Ni Nanoparticles
  • Siva Priya Jaccani, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Understanding Cracking Behavior of Glass from Its Elastic and Plastic Response to Hydrostatic Compression
  • Wirat Lerdprom, Imperial College London, Observations on the effect of electric field on mullite formation in porcelains
  • Tiannan Yang, Pennsylvania State University, Phase-field Model of Ferroelectric Domain Dynamics under Ultrafast Stimuli