ACerS Basic Science Division recently announced the winners of its 2016 Graduate Excellence in Materials Science (GEMS) awards. The division sponsors the GEMS award as part of the annual MS&T conference and ACerS Annual Meeting events each year. Congratulations to the 2016 GEMS Award Finalists!

Diamond ranking:

  • Joseph Muth, Harvard University, 3D Printing of Hierarchical Ceramics
  • Kate Reeve, Purdue University, Beta-Sn Grain Formation in Aluminum-modified Lead-free Solder Alloys
  • David Kok, University of California, Irvine, Flash Sintering of a Three-Phase Alumina, Spinel and Yttria-Stabilized Zirconia Composite

Sapphire ranking:

  • Swetha Barkam, University of Central Florida, Dopamine Sensor Using Cerium Oxide Immobilized on Highly Ordered Polymer Nanopillars
  • Hwasung Yeom, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Development of Zirconium-Silicide Coating for Enhancement of Accident Tolerance of Zirconium-alloy LWR Cladding Material
  • Cody V. Cushman, Brigham Young University, Multi-Instrument Depth Profiling of Advanced Glass Materials
  • Lisa Rueschhoff, Purdue University, Room-temperature and Low-pressure Injection Molding of Silicon Nitride Aqueous Suspensions
  • Theresa Davey, Imperial College London, Using DFT Calculations of the Vacancy Formation Energy to Inform the Assessment of the C-Zr Phase Diagram