Cements, Electronics, GOMD and NETD present division awards | The American Ceramic Society

Cements, Electronics, GOMD and NETD present division awards

Cements, GOMD, Electronics and NETD are pleased to announce the winners of various Division awards and contests. Congratulations go to: 

Cements Division

Della Roy Lecture

Joseph J. Biernacki, Tennessee Technological University

Lecture title: “What do artificial intelligence, synthetic life-chemistry and nuclear fusion have to do with cement? (a vision for things to come)”

Student Poster Winners

Ardavan Ardeshirilajimi, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Matthew Krafcik, Purdue University

Zhidong Zhang, Princeton University

YouTube contest winners: 

Elizaveta Pustovgar, ETH Zurich

Yu Song, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Electronics Division

Edward C. Henry Award 

Winning paper: “Electric-Field-Induced Domain Switching and Domain Texture Relaxations in Bulk Bismuth Ferrite”

Journal of the American Ceramic Society, 98 [12] 3884-3890 (2015)

by Neamul H. Khansur1, Tadej Rojac2, Dragan Damjanovic3, Christina Reinhard4, Kyle G. Webber5, Justin A. Kimpton6, and John E. Daniels1

1. University of New South Wales, Australia
2. Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
3. Swiss Federal Institute of Technology–EPFL, Switzerland
4. Diamond Light Source, Beamline I12 JEEP, Didcot, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
5. Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany
6. The Australian Synchrotron, Australia


Lewis C. Hoffman Scholarship
Mallory Purnell, Missouri University of Science and Technology

Glass & Optical Materials Division

Alfred R. Cooper Distinguished Lecturer
Neville Greaves, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, and Wuhan University of Technology, China
Lecture title: Where Inorganic Meets Organic in the Glassy State: Hybrid Glasses and Dental Cements

Alfred R. Cooper Scholar Award Winner

Matthew A. Tuggle, Clemson University
Lecture title: Novel Approaches to Glass Optical Fibers 

Student Poster Award Winners

1st place: Yongjian Yang, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

2nd place: Mengyi Wang, University of California, Los Angeles 

3rd place: Yinshan Chen, University of Wisconsin-Madison 

3rd place: Xiaonan Lu, University of North Texas 

Nuclear & Environmental Technology Division

D.T. Rankin Award

Theodore M. Besmann, University of South Carolina


Best Paper Award

Winning paper: “Effect of Hydration Heat on Iodine Distribution in Gypsum-Additive Calcium Aluminate Cement”

By Tomofumi Sakuragi, Yu Yamashita, and Shigeto Kikuchi, Toshiba Corporation, Japan

Paper presented at MS&T 2015