2020 ACerS DLMs (new)

[Image above] 2020 Distinguished Life Members: Richard Brow, Alexandra Navrotsky, and Mrityunjay Singh.

WESTERVILLE, Ohio, June 8, 2020—The American Ceramic Society (ACerS) will award three members the honor of the organization’s 2020 Distinguished Life Members: Richard Brow, Alexandra Navrotsky, and Mrityunjay Singh. The Distinguished Life Member Award is the highest honor accorded to members of the scientific and technical organization and recognizes eminent contribution to the ceramic and glass profession.

The awards will be presented at the Society’s Annual Honor and Awards banquet, Oct. 5, 2020, in Pittsburgh, Pa., during the ACerS Annual Meeting held at the Materials Science and Technology Conference.

“Congratulations to the 2020 class of Distinguished Life Members,” ACerS president Tatsuki Ohji says. “Every year the Society honors preeminent members who have devoted their professional lives to the advancement of ceramic science and technology and have made most significant contributions to their profession.”

“They exemplify the best of what our members can achieve in their careers,” he adds. “Thank you for your outstanding work and seamless dedication to the Society and your profession.”

Plan to attend ACerS Annual Meeting and the Honor and Awards Banquet at MS&T20, October 5, in Pittsburgh, Pa., to watch all award recipients receive their awards.

The 2020 Distinguished Life Members are:

Richard Brow

Richard Brow is Curators’ Distinguished Professor of Ceramic Engineering and interim deputy provost for academic excellence at the Missouri University of Science and Technology in Rolla, Missouri. He received his B.S. degree in ceramic engineering and M.S. degree in glass science from the NYS College of Ceramics at Alfred University, and a Ph.D. in ceramic science from The Pennsylvania State University. Prior to joining the faculty at Missouri S&T in 1998, Brow was a member of the technical staff at Sandia National Labs in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Brow’s research focuses on the relationships between glass composition, structure, and properties to design compositions for high powered lasers, nuclear waste encapsulation, sealants for fuel cells, and biomedical implants, among other applications. He has been an ACerS member for over 40 years and is an ACerS Fellow. He has served the Society in a variety of roles, including as chair of the New Mexico Section and the Glass & Optical Materials Division, on the ACerS Board of Directors (2007–2009), as ACerS president (2012–2013), and on the Board of the Ceramic and Glass Industry Foundation (2018–2019). He also belongs to ACerS Glass & Optical Materials Division and Bioceramics Division.

Alexandra Navrotsky

Alexandra Navrotsky is director of the Center for Materials of the Universe and professor in the School of Molecular Sciences and the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy at Arizona State University in Tempe, Arizona. She received her B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in physical chemistry from the University of Chicago. Navrotsky started her academic faculty career at ASU and recently returned there after working at Princeton University and the University of California, Davis.

Navrotsky’s research interests center about relating microscopic features of structure and bonding to macroscopic thermodynamic behavior in minerals, ceramics, and other complex materials. She has been an ACerS member for almost 50 years and is an ACerS Fellow. She has won numerous Society awards, including the Best Paper Award of the Nuclear & Environmental Technology Division (2001), the Spriggs Phase Equilibria Award (2005), and the W. David Kingery Award (2016). She also belongs to ACerS Basic Science Division.

Mrityunjay Singh

Mrityunjay Singh is chief scientist at the Ohio Aerospace Institute in Cleveland, Ohio. He received his Ph.D. in metallurgical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology-BHU in Varanasi, India, and did his post-doctoral work at Louisiana State University and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Singh has been actively involved in research on characterizing advanced ceramics and composites, ultrahigh-temperature ceramic composites, lightweight cellular ceramics, and high conductivity composites and foams for thermal management applications. He has been an ACerS member for over 30 years and is an ACerS Fellow. He is an ACerS past president (2015–2016) and has received the John Jeppson Medal, President Award, Richard M. Fulrath Award, Samuel Geijsbeek Award, James I. Mueller Award, and Toledo Glass and Ceramic Awards. He also belongs to ACerS Engineering Ceramics Division.

Media contact

Eileen De Guire

  • Director, Technical Content and Communications
  • 614-794-5828
  • edeguire@ceramics.org

About ACerS

Founded in 1898, The American Ceramic Society is the leading professional membership organization for ceramic and materials scientists, engineers, researchers, manufacturers, plant personnel, educators, and students. The Society serves more than 10,000 members from more than 70 countries. www.ceramics.org