Fellows 2021_Paul Andrew Salvador

[Image above] Past ACerS president Dana Goski (2020–2021) presents the 2021 Class of Fellows with plaques at MS&T21 in Columbus, Ohio.

WESTERVILLE, Ohio, May 17, 2022: The American Ceramic Society (ACerS) will elevate 19 members to Fellow Status this year. The Fellow designation recognizes ACerS members who have distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions to the ceramic arts or sciences, broad and productive scholarship in ceramic science and technology, conspicuous achievement in ceramic industry, or by outstanding service to the Society.

“The 2022 class of Fellows represents a diverse group of exceptional leaders in the ceramics and glass community. Their professional achievements and service to ACerS have expanded the educational, scientific, technical and/or industrial frontiers of our profession. I commend this class of Fellows for their outstanding achievements,” says Beth Dickey, ACerS president.

The awards will be presented at the Society’s Annual Honor and Awards banquet, Oct. 10, 2022, during the ACerS Annual Meeting held at the Materials Science and Technology Conference, October 9–12 in Pittsburgh, Pa.

The 2022 Class of Fellows includes:

  • Kristin Breder, Saint-Gobain Ceramics & Plastics
  • Janet Callahan, Michigan Technological University
  • Shen Dillon, University of California, Irvine
  • Olivier Guillon, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH
  • Joseph Homeny, Edward Orton Jr. Ceramic Foundation
  • Juejun Hu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Yuji Iwamoto, Nagoya Institute of Technology
  • Soshu Kirihara, Osaka University
  • Barbara Malič, Jozef Stefan University
  • Lane Martin, University of California, Berkely
  • Blythe McCarthy, Freer Gallery of Art & Arthur M. Sackler Gallery
  • Doris Möncke, Alfred University
  • Irene Peterson, Corning Incorporated
  • Joseph Ryan, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Gaurav Sant, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Alp Sehirlioglu, Case Western Reserve University
  • Richard Todd, University of Oxford
  • Eric Wuchina, Naval Surface Warfare Center
  • Yanwen Zhang, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Media contact

Eileen De Guire

  • Director, Technical Content and Communications
  • 614-794-5828
  • edeguire@ceramics.org

About ACerS

Founded in 1898, The American Ceramic Society is the leading professional membership organization for ceramic and materials scientists, engineers, researchers, manufacturers, plant personnel, educators, and students. The Society serves more than 10,000 members from more than 70 countries. www.ceramics.org