DLMs 2022

[Image above] 2022 Distinguished Life Members: Sylvia Johnson, Tatsuki Ohji, and Kent Weisenstein.

WESTERVILLE, Ohio, May 17, 2022: The American Ceramic Society (ACerS) will award the honor of Distinguished Life Member to Sylvia Johnson, Tatsuki Ohji, and Kent Weisenstein. The Distinguished Life Member Award is the Society’s highest honor accorded to members of the scientific and technical organization and recognizes eminent contribution to the ceramic and glass profession.

“Our Distinguished Life Members have each made unique and profound impacts on the ceramic science and engineering discipline and industry. It is a true honor to recognize their enduring impacts on our profession and their outstanding leadership within The American Ceramic Society via the highest distinction of our Society,” says Beth Dickey, ACerS president.

The awards will be presented at the Society’s Annual Honor and Awards banquet, Oct. 10, 2022, during the ACerS Annual Meeting held at the Materials Science and Technology Conference, October 9–12 in Pittsburgh, Pa.

The 2022 Distinguished Life Members are:

Sylvia Johnson

Sylvia Johnson is retired chief materials technologist in the Entry Systems and Technology Division at NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, California. She received her BSc. in ceramic engineering from the University of New South Wales, Sydney, and M.S. and Ph.D. in materials science and engineering from the University of California, Berkeley. Johnson previously served as director of the Ceramic and Chemical Product Development Laboratory at SRI International before moving to NASA, where she has also held the positions of deputy division chief of the Space Technology Division and chief of the Thermal Protection Materials and Systems Branch of the Space Technology Division.

Johnson is widely recognized for her contributions to the development and application of new and improved thermal protection materials for access to space and planetary missions. She has been an ACerS member for more than 45 years and is an ACerS Fellow. She has served the Society in a variety of roles, including as ACerS president (2018–19), member of the Board of Directors, program chair for the Pacific Coast Regional Meeting, chair of the Northern California Section, general chair for PACRIM-5, and several Society committees. She has received the James I. Mueller Award and the Edward Orton Jr. Lecture Award, as well as three NASA Awards that recognize her contributions to space flight systems and technologies. She belongs to ACerS Basic Science Division; Art, Archaeology & Conservation Science Division; Energy Materials and Systems Division; and Engineering Ceramics Division.

Tatsuki Ohji

Tatsuki Ohji is visiting research scientist at the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan, as well as visiting professor at Yokohama National University and Nagoya Institute of Technology, both in Japan. Ohji also serves as technical advisor to the Japan Fine Ceramics Association. Prior to retirement, he held the position of Fellow of AIST. He received his B.S. and M.S. in mechanical engineering from Nagoya Institute of Technology and Ph.D. in inorganic materials engineering from Tokyo Institute of Technology.

Ohji’s research has made great impacts in the areas of high-temperature strength properties of ceramics in uniaxial tension, strengthening and toughening behavior of advanced ceramics and composites, ultrahigh-temperature composites, and freeze-dry processing approach for making porous ceramics, among others. He has been an ACerS member for more than 32 years and is an ACerS Fellow. He has served the Society in a variety of roles, including as ACerS president (2019–20), member of the Board of Directors, trustee of the Engineering Ceramics Division, and chair and member of various Society-level committees. He is the first Board member and first president from the Asian continent. He has received the W. David Kingery Award, John Jeppson Award, Samuel Geijsbeek PACRIM International Award, and ECD Bridge Building Award. He belongs to ACerS Engineering Ceramics Division, Basic Science Division, and Energy Materials and Systems Division.

20 May 2022 – Ohji affiliations updated.

Kent Weisenstein

Kent Weisenstein is a retired refractories industry entrepreneur. He received his B.S. degree at the Missouri School of Mines (now Missouri University of Science and Technology) and then worked as an engineer at H.K. Porter Refractories before co-founding the Missouri Refractories Company (MORCO) in 1975. He led the company as owner and president for 25 years until it was sold to RHI Magnesita in 2000 when he retired.

Weisenstein has been an ACerS member for more than 60 years and is an ACerS Fellow. He has served the Society in a variety of roles, including playing an instrumental role in the formation of the St. Louis Section, co-founder of and symposium chair for the annual St. Louis Section Refractories Symposium, member of the Executive Committee of the Refractory Ceramics Division, and counselor for the Refractory Ceramics Division. He has received the Theodore J. Planje Award. He belongs to ACerS Refractory Ceramics Division.

Media contact

Eileen De Guire

  • Director, Technical Content and Communications
  • 614-794-5828
  • edeguire@ceramics.org

About ACerS

Founded in 1898, The American Ceramic Society is the leading professional membership organization for ceramic and materials scientists, engineers, researchers, manufacturers, plant personnel, educators, and students. The Society serves more than 10,000 members from more than 70 countries. www.ceramics.org