ACerS is pleased to announce the 2023 slate for the President-elect and Board of Directors positions as proposed by the Nominating Committee and approved by the Board of Directors.

ACerS Rules provide the opportunity for additional nominees to be proposed through a petition process (refer to the Rules for specific instructions). Should any member be proposed by petition, the petition should contain the signatures of at least 50 of the ACerS voting membership and should be received at ACerS Headquarters no later than April 1, 2023, to the attention of:

Mark Mecklenborg, Executive Director
The American Ceramic Society
550 Polaris Parkway, Suite 510
Westerville, OH 43082 USA

Should a petition be received, an election will be held from June 1, through July 3, 2023.  Otherwise, the Bylaws instruct that the Executive  Director shall certify the candidates as proposed by the Nominating  Committee. 

Installation of the elected Officers and Directors shall take place during the Annual Meeting in Columbus, Ohio, USA, on October 2, 2023.

PRESIDENT-ELECT – To serve a one-year term from October 5, 2023 to October 2024:

Professor Monica Ferraris
Politecnico di Torino
Torino, Italy

BOARD OF DIRECTORS – Three nominees to serve three-year terms from October 5, 2023 to October 2026:

Dr. Alexandra Navrotsky
Director and Professor
Center for Materials of the Universe, School of Molecular Sciences
Arizona State University
Tempe, Arizona, USA

Dr. Dileep Singh
Distinguished Fellow/Group Leader
Argonne National Laboratory
Lemont, Illinois, USA

Dr. Todd Steyer
Chief Engineer, Materials & Manufacturing R&D
The Boeing Company
Huntington Beach, California, USA

The American Ceramic Society (ACerS) values and seeks diverse and inclusive participation within the field of ceramic science and engineering. ACerS strives to promote involvement and access to leadership opportunity regardless of race, ethnicity, gender, religion, age, sexual orientation, nationality, disability, appearance, geographic location, career path or academic level.