Earlier this month, the World Academy of Ceramics honored 13 ACerS members for internationally renowned, significant contributions to the advancement of ceramic science and technology.

The Academy, founded in 1987, defines itself as an international community “directed towards promoting progress in the field of ceramics and fostering a better understanding of the social impact and cultural interactions of ceramics science, technology, history, and art.” Academicians are “individuals who have made an international noteworthy contribution to the advancement of ceramics,” whether they work in academic or industrial communities.

The following ACerS members were elected Academicians in the “Science” category:

  • John M. Ballato, Clemson University, Clemson, S.C.
  • Aldo R. Boccaccini, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Erlangen, Germany
  • Wai-Yim Ching, University of Missouri, Kansas City, Mo.
  • John W. Halloran, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich.
  • Shinichi Kikkawa, Hokkaido University, Hokkaido, Japan
  • Jacques L. Lamon, CNRS, Cachan, France
William E. Lee, Imperial College London, U.K.
  • Kathleen A. Richardson, University of Central Florida, Orlando, Fla.
  • Tom Troczynski, University of British Columbia, Canada.

The following ACerS members were elected Academicians in the “Industry and Innovation” category:

  • Jun Akedo, AIST, Tsukuba, Japan
  • Kiyoshi Shimamura, NIMS, Tsukuba, Japan

“I am so honored to be selected for this prestigious award, which recognizes my research contributions and educational outreach efforts in our ceramic and glass community. The international scope of the award and the distinguished company of the Academy that I will be joining make this recognition especially meaningful,” says ACerS president Kathleen Richardson.

Elections to the Academy are held on a regular basis, and the maximum number of Academicians is limited to 200.

Additionally, two ACerS members were awarded the International Ceramics Prize 2016 from the Academy: Peter Greil, University of Erlangen-Nuernberg, Germany; and Kenji Uchino, Pennsylvania State University, State College, Pa. The honorees were approved during the Academy’s council meeting in July. The International Ceramics Prize is conferred by the Academy every four years to recognize recent important achievements in ceramic science and technology.

“ACerS is incredibly proud of the tremendous contributions made to the ceramics industry by our members. To see so many of our members recognized by the World Academy of Ceramics for their part in advancing ceramic science and technology is a huge accomplishment. We are inspired by all the great work these individuals have already done to help shape the future of the ceramics industry, and we look forward to seeing the amazing work they’ll continue to do,” says Charlie Spahr, ACerS executive director.