The Electronics Division presented awards for outstanding student work during the January 2020 Conference on Electronic Materials and Applications in Orlando, Fla. Congratulations to these students:

Poster Competition EMA 2020:
1st place: Ayana Ghosh – University of Connecticut
“Design of novel molecular ferroelectrics using first-principles based and machine learning approaches”

2nd place: Nicole Bartek – University of Duisburg-Essen
“Improving the electrical and ferroelectric properties of lead iron niobite by decreasing calcination temperature”

3rd place:  Charles McLouth Culbertson – Oregon State University
“Oxide ion conduction mechanisms in sodium bismuth titanate (Na0.5Bi0.5TiO3)”

Oral Presentation Competition EMA 2020:
1st place:  Elzbieta Gradauskaite – ETH Zurich
“Robust in-plane ferroelectricity in ultrathin epitaxial Aurivillius films”

2nd place: John McGarrahan – North Carolina State University
“Effects of electrode composition and potential on moisture incorporation and degradation of dielectrics and piezoelectrics”

3rd place: Shelby Fields – University of Virginia
“Metal nitride stress and chemistry effects on polarization and cycling performance of Hf0.58Zr0.42O2 films”