Nominations received after the nomination date will not be considered for the award.

The Edward C. Henry Award is given annually to an outstanding paper reporting original work in the Journal of the American Ceramic Society or the Bulletin during the previous calendar year on a subject related to electronic ceramics.

The winning paper is selected by the Committee on Awards and Scholarships and judged to reflect the best in originality of content, scientific and technical merit, and quality of the presentation.

We have closed nominations for the best paper published in calendar year 2018 on a subject related to electronic ceramics. The author(s) of the Best Paper Award will be presented with a certificate and $500 at the 121st ACerS Annual Meeting in Portland, Oregon, September 29 – October 3, 2019.

Nomination Process:

ACerS Members are invited to submit a nomination for this award. Self-nominations are not allowed.

A valid nomination for each paper should contain:

  • The name and member number of the nominator,
  • the title, author(s), and the publication details of the paper being nominated, and
  • up to one page description in support of the nomination. This support information should include a clear discussion on the originality, the scientific and technical merit, the significance of the subject on the field, and the quality of the presentation of the paper.

Nominators can also submit one letter of recommendation from an expert in the field addressing the above criteria. However, a recommendation letter is not necessary.

Only formally nominated papers will be considered for the award. Also, only electronic versions of the nomination will be accepted.

Papers authored or co-authored by a current member of the Awards and Scholarships Committee are excluded from award consideration.

Send electronic nominations to:

Jennifer Andrew
University of Florida

Nominations should also be sent to Erica Zimmerman

Claire Xiong presents the 2017 Edward C. Henry Award to Wataru Sakamoto accepting on behalf of his co-authors.

Deadline for Nominations:

May 15th annually