The George W. Morey Award is presented by the Glass & Optical Materials Division of ACerS and is sponsored by Guardian Glass, LLC. The award recognizes new and original work in the field of glass science and technology. The criterion for winning the award is excellence in publication of work, either experimental or theoretical, done by an individual. The award committee will select each year’s winner.

George W. Morey spent most of his career (1912–1953) at the Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, where he and others made major contributions to glass and ceramic science and technology over most of the past century.

Morey was associated with the Geological Survey of the U.S. Dept. of the Interior from 1957 until he died in 1965. A pioneer in the study of glass properties, he was an Honorary Member of The American Ceramic Society. Dr. Morey’s book “The Properties of Glass” is a classic work in the field of glass technology.

The Award consists of a glass piece, a complimentary meeting registration and travel reimbursement.

Morey nomination package should include:

  • One page letter of support from lead sponsor that includes a statement about the impact and quality of the nominee’s publications on the field
  • CV (note that selection will be based primarily on published contributions to the field
  • Additional letters of recommendation by those knowledgeable of the nominee’s achievements and publications are permitted but not required

Only one Morey lecturer per year will be selected. Attending the GOMD Annual Meeting and giving the lecture is a condition of acceptance of the Morey Award.

Send nominations electronically by March 15 to:

Irene Peterson
2023–2024 Chair, Glass & Optical Materials Division

and ACerS Staff Member Vicki Evans

Deadline for Nominations:

extended to March 15

Award Winners