[Image above] 2018 Distinguished Life Members: Amar Bhalla, John W. Halloran, and George W. Scherer.

The American Ceramic Society (ACerS) will award three members the honor of the organization’s 2018 Distinguished Life Members: Amar Bhalla, John W. Halloran, and George W. Scherer. The Distinguished Life Member Award is the highest honor accorded to members of the scientific and technical organization and recognizes eminent contribution to the ceramic and glass profession.

The Society will also elevate 15 members to Fellow Status. The Fellow designation recognizes ACerS members who have distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions to the ceramic arts or sciences, broad and productive scholarship in ceramic science and technology, conspicuous achievement in ceramic industry, or by outstanding service to the Society.

The awards will be presented at the Society’s Annual Honor and Awards banquet, October 15, 2018, in Columbus, Ohio, during the ACerS Annual Meeting held at the Materials Science and Technology Conference.

“Congratulations to the 2018 class of Distinguished Life Members and Fellows,” ACerS president Mike Alexander says. “Every year the Society honors outstanding members who have devoted their lives to advancing ceramic and glass science and have made significant contributions to their profession.

“They set the bar for what our members can aspire to,” he adds. “Thank you for your hard work and dedication to the Society and your profession.”

Plan to attend ACerS Annual Meeting and the Honor and Awards Banquet at MS&T18, October 15, in Columbus, Ohio to watch all award recipients receive their awards. Visit this link to register.

The 2018 Distinguished Life Members include:

Amar Bhalla

Bhalla is Distinguished Research Professor of electrical and computer engineering at the University of Texas at San Antonio. He has a Ph.D. in solid state science from Pennsylvania State University (State College), where he spent more than 30 years as professor of electrical engineering and senior scientist for the Materials Research Institute.

Bhalla’s research focuses on piezoelectric glass ceramics, nanocomposites for MEMS substrates, and high temperature ferroics. He has been an ACerS member for nearly 40 years, is an ACerS Fellow, and a Global Ambassador Award recipient. Bhalla is a member of ACerS Electronics Division and has been an integral force behind its global expansion.

John W. Halloran

Halloran is Van Vlack Professor Emeritus in the Materials Science and Engineering Department, University of Michigan. He earned his Ph.D. in materials science from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge).

Halloran’s research centers around ceramic processing, phase transformations, and properties of ceramics, which led to successful commercialization of several technologies. He cofounded Applied Materials Inc., a manufacturer of solid oxide fuel cells and now a subsidiary of Ultra Electronics Holdings plc, and DDM Systems, which 3-D prints molds for precision investment casting molds. Halloran is an ACerS Fellow, has served as president of ACerS Ceramic Education Council, and is editor of the Journal of the American Ceramic Society.He is also a member of ACerS Basic Science Division.

George W. Scherer

Scherer is Professor Emeritus at Princeton University (Princeton, N.J.). His major research focus has been on sol-gel science, concrete and cements, glass and glass relaxation, and conservation science. He holds a Ph.D. in materials science from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge). He spent over 20 years in industry, first at Corning where he worked with optical fiber preforms, then at DuPont, where he studied sol-gel technology.

Scherer is an ACerS Fellow and has received numerous ACerS awards, including the G.W. Morey Award, Ross Coffin Purdy Award, Fulrath Award, Robert Sosman Award, Stephen Brunauer Award, and Della Roy Lecture Award. He is a member of ACerS Basic Science, Cements, and Glass and Optical Materials Divisions.

The 2018 Class of Fellows include:

  • S. Pamir Alpay, University of Connecticut
  • Joseph Cesarano III, Robocasting Enterprises LLC
  • Dominique Chatain, National Center for Scientific Research/Interdisciplinary Center of Nanoscience of Marseille, joint laboratory of CNRS and Aix-Marseille University
  • Dragan Damjanovic, Institute of Materials, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne – EPFL
  • Monica Ferraris, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Zhengyi Fu, Wuhan University of Technology
  • Glenn Alan Gates, Walters Art Museum
  • Zachary Grasley, Zachry Department of Civil Engineering and Materials Science & Engineering Department, Texas A&M University
  • Timothy Haugan, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory, Aerospace Systems Directorate
  • James G. Hemrick, Reno Refractories
  • Ram S. Katiyar, University of Puerto Rico
  • John S. McCloy, Washington State University
  • Julie M. Schoenung, University of California, Irvine
  • Richard D. Sisson Jr., Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Todd Steyer, The Boeing Company

Did you find this article interesting? Subscribe to the Ceramic Tech Today newsletter to continue to read more articles about the latest news in the ceramic and glass industry! Visit this link to get started.