0906ctt WAC logo

 Wicks_George_lo res

George Wicks, ACerS Fellow and immediate past-president, will be inducted into the 15th class of Professional Members of the World Academy of Ceramics in June 2014. (Credit: ACerS) 

The Italy-based World Academy of Ceramics has selected its 15th class of Professional Members of the Academy in its biennial election, including ACerS immediate past president George Wicks and 12 other ACerS members.

The Academy, founded in 1987, defines itself as an international community “directed towards promoting progress in the field of ceramics and fostering a better understanding of the social impact and cultural interactions of ceramics science, technology, history, and art. Academicians are “individuals who have made an international noteworthy contribution to the advancement of ceramics,” whether they work in the academic community or the industrial, nonacademic community.

ACerS members elected to the “Science” category are Lennart Bergstrom (Sweden, Fellow ACerS), Bruce Dunn (US, Fellow ACerS), Monica Ferraris (Italy), Yuichi Ikuhara (Japan, Fellow ACerS), Setsuro Ito (Japan, Fellow ACerS), Jennifer Lewis (US, Fellow ACerS), Reginaldo Muccillo (Brazil), Subhash Risbud (US, Fellow ACerS), Masasuke Takata (Japan), and Min Wang (China).

ACerS members elected to the “Industry and Innovation” category are Shaoming Dong (China), Sylvia Johnson (US, Fellow ACerS), and George Wicks (US, Fellow ACerS, ACerS past-president).

In addition, non-ACerS members receiving the honor, all in the Science category, are José M.F. Ferreira (Portugal), Heli Maarit Jantunen (Finland), Ramon Torrecillas (Spain), and Mikolaj Szafran (Poland).

The new Academicians will be recognized next June at the at the opening ceremony of CIMTEC 2014 in Montecatini Terme, Italy.

The Society extends its congratulations to all 17 new Academicians!