Scene 1 lo res


A trip to Daytona Beach practically demands a scrapbook! A resort town much of the year, in January it is home to the International Conference on Advanced Ceramics and Composites organized by ACerS Engineering Ceramics Division. Next year will mark the event’s 40th anniversary and its 10th anniversary in Daytona Beach.

The meeting closes today and was a success by all measures—1,100 attendees from more than 40 countries, 200-plus students, a vibrant expo, and good (enough) weather. First-time attendees I talked to are leaving with the new collaborators, network, and business they came to find.

Here’s a scrapbook from ICACC’15. (Find additional coverage of the meeting from earlier this week here.) Now it’s time to turn attention to next year’s 40th jubilee celebration!

Recep 3 lo res

Andy Gyekenyesi, ECD vice-chair and treasurer, and Mike Halbig, ECD chair, at the opening reception. Credit: ACerS

Recep 1 lo res

Friendships were renewed at Sunday’s opening reception. Credit: ACerS

Recep 2 lo res

Visiting the Wiley book table at the opening reception. Credit: ACerS

MathurSingh lo res

Sanjay Mathur (left) and Dileep Singh (right) are “on the same page,” but not in the same place—yet—at Sunday’s reception. Credit: ACerS

Scene 1 lo res

Networking is one of the most valuable parts of the conference. Credit: ACerS

Schott 1 lo res

A team uses drinking straws to build a protective cage for a shot glass provided by Schott Glass. Credit: ACerS

Schott 2 lo res

Onlookers and entrants in the Schott Glass drop competition. Credit: ACerS

Schott 3 lo res

Winners of the Schott Glass drop competition, from left: Bert Conings, Hasselt University, Belgium; Danny Vanpouke, Ghent University, Belgium; Chenxin Jin, Dalhousie University, Canada; Stephen Sehr, University of California, Santa Barbara. Credit: ACerS

ICACC plenaries lo res

The plenary session speakers receive recognition from ECD chair Mike Halbig. See Tuesday’s CTT for a full report on their talks. Clockwise, from top left: Mueller Award winner David Clarke, Harvard University; Bridge Builder award winner Sanjay Mathur, University of Cologne; plenary speaker Cato Laurencin, University of Connecticut; and Kazushige Ohno, Ibiden Co., Ltd, Japan. Credit: ACerS

Expo 1 lo res

Nick Semitka explains how Eirich mixing technology works. Credit: ACerS

Expo 2 lo res

Alan Nusbaum from describes Thermal Wave Imaging capabilities to a visitor. Credit: ACerS

Poster 1 lo res

Combining the poster session with the expo provided new things to learn. Credit: ACerS