During the past 50 years, Pacific Rim countries have proudly contributed to groundbreaking research, technology development, and commercialization in the field of engineered and functional ceramics. These important contributions led to the advancement and wide scale utilization of ceramics in energy, aerospace, transportation, healthcare, communication, infrastructure, environmental, and other industrial sectors. In turn, these ceramic technologies and systems led to significant improvements in living standards and quality of life for people across the world.

The International Summit series started in 2011 with the focus being on Pacific Rim countries. The second summit in 2012 focused on EU/US ceramic efforts, while in 2013 it was called the Summit of Americas. The second round for both the Pacific Rim and EU/US summits were held in 2014 and 2015, respectively. The third Pacific Rim summits were held in 2017. In 2020, the 4th Pacific Rim Engineering Ceramics Summit will bring together experts from academia, industry, and government research institutes/laboratories to discuss the current state of the art and various technical challenges in research and development, engineering, manufacturing, and application of ceramic materials. The goal of the summit is to provide a forum for global information exchange concerning the current status and emerging trends in various ceramic technologies in Pacific Rim countries.

Proposed session topics
  • Current trends and future directions for research and technology
  • Challenges and opportunities for various ceramic technologies
  • Energy and environmental issues and role of ceramics
  • Applications of engineering and functional ceramics
  • Ceramic education, training, and knowledge management
  • Overview of major ceramics efforts in the region

Symposium Organizers
  • Young-Wook Kim, University of Seoul, Republic of Korea
  • Jingyang Wang, Institute of Metal Research, China
  • Manabu Fukushima, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan
  • Surojit Gupta, University of North Dakota, USA
  • Valerie Wiesner, NASA Glenn Research Center, USA
  • Hua-Tay Lin, Guangdong University of Technology, China
  • Junichi Tatami, Yohohama National University, Japan
  • Juan Paulo Wiff, Air Liquide, Japan
  • Prabhakar Singh, Indian Institute of Technology, Banaras, India
  • Dechang Jia, Harbin Institute of Technology, China
  • In-Hyuck Song, Korea Institute of Materials Science, Republic of Korea
  • Miki Inada, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Ziqi Sun, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  • Ramesh Singh, University of Malaya, Malaysia
Points of Contact