As the increasing global population drives to meet the basic necessities and improve its standard of living, the demand for energy, healthcare, housing, transportation, and industrial products is growing rapidly as well. However, the higher demand and production in all these areas leads to a dramatic increase in the overall consumption of resources and rate of pollution, leading to climate change that creates the risk of irreversible changes in ecosystem. New technologies and innovative solutions are required to address these needs. This symposium will address the critical role of emergent materials and sustainable manufacturing technologies in addressing various societal challenges. It will cover wide ranging topics and identify key challenges and opportunities for various emerging materials and innovative manufacturing technologies in a global landscape.

This symposium is being held in honor of Dr. Tatsuki Ohji, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan, recognizing his long term and outstanding contributions to science and technology of advanced ceramic materials and technologies and promoting and developing human network and collaborations among the materials community worldwide. The technical program will cover, but is not limited to:

  • Global resource management for sustainable development
  • Innovative strategies for sustainable and self-sufficient solutions
  • Emergent materials and technologies
  • Hybrid and multifunctional systems
  • Materials for sustainable energy and environmental systems
  • Technologies for human health and societal welfare
  • Emerging materials and technologies for AI, IoTs, and Big Data
  • Technologies for solving global water challenges
  • Knowledge management, education, mentoring, and collaboration

A number of experts from all over the world will be invited to make presentations in their specific areas of interest and highlight specific contributions they have made to better the lives of people and support sustainable societal development.


  • Mrityunjay Singh, Ohio Aerospace Institute, USA,
  • Manabu Fukushima, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan,
  • Jingyang Wang, IMR-Shenyang National Laboratory for Materials Science, China
  • Kiyoshi Shimamura, National Institute of Materials Science, Japan
  • Alexander Michaelis, Fraunhofer IKTS, Germany
  • Young-Wook Kim, University of Seoul, Korea
  • Sanjay Mathur, University of Cologne, Germany
  • Dileep Singh, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
  • Monica Ferraris, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
  • Zhengyi Fu, Wuhan University of Technology, China